TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Sergeant

Age: 3 years old

Gender: Male

Breed: Lab mix

Weight: 30 lbs

Personality: Very sweet and gentle! A lover of cuddles!

Education: Relies on diapers and walks wonderfully on the leash.

Favorite Activities: A huge fan of squeaky toys! Loves to watch and chase critters, get pets, and be a good boy. Learning to liking walks for more time daily!

Looking for: A very patient and understanding family who will love him deeply and care for his needs. Someone who will be home most of the time will be ideal. An open yard/farm will help him hang out without his diapers. He can be with cats but no dogs.

Special needs: He is incontinent with urine and feces, but a pawfect boy! Currently eating Royal Canin Veterinary Diet Adult Selected Protein PR Dry Dog Food, monthly cost is ~$100, depending on market value. He is taking Trazodone as needed for separation anxiety when left alone. Monthly cost is ~$5.00

Adoption Fee: $ 200

Tell me I’m a good boy, and I’ll be yours forever!

Attention! I’m Sergeant, and I’m a 3-year-old fixed Labrador Retriever Mix, weighing 28 pounds. I was rescued from the streets of Tijuana where it is believed that I was either abused or hit by a car.  Whatever the cause, I suffered severe trauma to my spine, which has left me fully incontinent (with both urine and feces).  As a result, I must be diapered at all times when I’m indoors or when I’m inside a car.  The good news is, I’m fully mobile (and can walk very well on a leash, I might add) and am in no pain from this injury. I have a sensitive stomach so I eat Royal Canin Veterinary Diet Adult Selected Protein PR Dry Dog Food to help keep me regular and recently started some anxiety medication to help with my nervousness when I am left alone.

But, let’s get to a little bit about me! I’m a sweet and gentle boy who is incredibly loving with people and children.  More than anything in the world, I want to be petted, loved on, and told that I’m a good boy.  My morning cuddles are to die for! My favorite activities include chasing fast-moving creatures, like lizards and squirrels, and going on car rides.  But most of all, I adore my squeaky toys! I can play with them for hours and just one squeak can send me from a deep slumber to instantly alert.  One thing that I am working on, though, is my severe separation anxiety, as well as my general anxiety.  Due to my rough past, I never want to be alone, and I don’t handle being left behind very well.  I can also be a bit apprehensive and fearful. Another aspect is my lack of dog socialization skills, where I do a low growl when they get too close and I become uncomfortable. As long as a dog won’t approach me, and/or I have my squeaky distraction toy, I am good. I will need help with desensitization. However, I think with the right training and loving family, I’ll be able to make a lot of progress in this department!

My ideal home would be somewhere with a large yard – even a farm – where I could play and sniff around undiapered most of the day.  I’d also prefer to have company the majority of the time, so a work-from-home situation would be ideal.  I need to be your one and only doggie but do well sharing a home with cats!  All in all, though, I’m a lovable boy who is just looking for a furever family who I can love with all my heart.    

My adoption fee is $200 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/

 

Apply to Adopt Me!