TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Mr. Peabody

Age: 4 years old

Gender: Male

Breed: Hound mix

Weight: 47 lbs

Personality: An absolute sweetheart who loves belly rubs. He is more of an only pet kinda guy but will love all the attention.

Education: Good with bathroom and leash training. Does well in the crate but for a shorter time right now. Very treat motivated!

Favorite Activities: Walks and sniffing around with his hound nose, belly rubs, pets, snuggles, lotsa treats!

Looking for: A loving home with lots of playtime, walks and sniffaris. He will do great with young kids and a yard for exercise. Some patient and positive reinforcement training will help him be the best boy! He'd prefer being the only pet.

Adoption Fee: $ 300

Throw in some belly rubs and he’ll be yours forever!

Howdy, folks! My name is Mr. Peabody, and I’m a 4-year-old, 47-pound neutered Hound mix.  I’m just a good ol’ boy who is looking for a loving family to call my own.

Before I found my way to TAP, I was living on the streets in Mexico.  And let me tell you, my friends, life was ruff there, and I wasn’t in the greatest condition when I was picked up by the Ensenada pound.  Thankfully, though, I wasn’t there too long and was soon transferred to a vet in Tijuana, where I spent the next month recovering.  Now, I’m happy to report that I’m back to my old self and am healthy as a horse … errr, hound!

My foster mama describes me as good-tempered, friendly, and eager to please! My favorite activities include getting belly rubs and lots of pets, cuddling with my humans, and meeting new people. Oh, and I absolutely LOVE walks! I walk three miles every day, and I like sniffing around with my nose to the ground while I explore new territories.  I don’t seem to get along too well with other doggies or kitties, so I don’t think having any furry siblings are in the cards for me.  Kids, though, are A-OK! I’m very approachable and don’t have an aggressive bone in my body towards little humans.  In fact, I like to roll over when I see them and ask for belly rubs.   

Regarding my training, I am completely housebroken, and I am generally obedient when given commands in a firm voice.  Treats help, too, when training me, as I’m strongly influenced by them.   I pull strong while on a leash and show some aggression towards other dogs, but I’ve found that a harness with a front leash attachment works wonders!  Other than that, I am crate trained, but I’m becoming more resistant to it since I’ve learned that that means my humans are leaving me behind.  Still, I don’t have much separation anxiety and can do well on my own for short periods of time.  But, don’t leave me alone for too long! I need to be around my humans and get in enough of their attention each day. 

I think I’d make a great family dog with elementary-aged kiddos, and a backyard and daily walks around the neighborhood are absolutely essential.  Additional training would help me become the bestest boy, so I’d love an owner who’d devote a little extra time and patience there.  Other than that, I’m up for any adventure – walk, hike, or a snooze in the sun – and I promise to make every one of your days a little brighter!

My adoption fee is $300 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip.  If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/.

 

Apply to Adopt Me!