TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Macadamia

Age: 2 years old

Gender: Male

Breed: Border Collie mix

Weight: 60 lbs

Personality: Energetic goofster! He is working on trusting men again.

Education: Good with bathroom and leash training

Favorite Activities: Chasing toys and balls, playing with other dogs, window watching, cuddles, being affectionate and being with his people, running, going on walks and adventures.

Looking for: A loving home wanting an amazing pup and ready to commit to training him to be the best boy! A dog pal to show him the ropes, would be amazing. He is working on resource guarding and would prefer only older kids, and food management around dogs and children.

Special needs: He has bilateral hip dysplasia and is currently taking Carprofen to manage lameness (Two months supply cost ~$25.00, depending on market value and where purchased) and Gabapentin (Monthly cost ~$5-10.00, depending on market value and where purchased).Dasuquin Chews for hip health support (~$50 for 3 month supply). Will need bloodwork done every 6-12 months.

Adoption Fee: $ 300

You’re gonna go nutz for him!

Hello my fellows! My name is Macadamia and I am a 2 year old, 60 lbs, male neutered Border Collie mix. I was rescued in Mexico and was there at a foster home for a while before I made way to sunny San Diego. I have been a very good boy and have mastered bathroom, crate and leash training. I may get distracted on the leash while waking but re-direction is very easy and positive reinforcement helps. I do have some resource guarding issues that I am working on, so management around young kids is necessary.

I am not a tough nut to crack, and just need to exercise and remain mentally and physically stimulated. Brain games, tricks, walks help me a lot. I have bilateral hip dysplasia and am currently taking Carprofen (Two months supply cost ~$25.00, depending on market value and where purchased) and Gabapentin to manage my occasional lameness (Monthly cost ~$5-10.00, depending on market value and where purchased). I have high and excited energy, so do watch for that door when people come over! I love to zoom around and wish good morning to all. I am also highly affectionate and can be a velcro dog. I do have some fear of men, but I am learning to trust with lots of redirection and treats! Slow and gentle intros are key. I am good around other playful dogs too. I would prefer older kids to be with, as I am working through resource guarding and trusting men. Dogs and kiddos would require management around food.

I pawmise that we will be fun, loving and health nuts together. My silliness and joy will keep you happy! I will thrive in a home with another dogs and we can just play and get our energies out. I would prefer more females than males in my home and older kids. Hope we can be up for patient training together and teach me some fun tricks!

My adoption fee is $300 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/

Apply to Adopt Me!