TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Charlie

Age: 4 1/2 years old

Gender: Male

Breed: Shar Pei mix

Weight: 56 lbs

Personality: He is a mellow and relaxed dog, provided that he is in a relaxed environment.

Education: Good with bathroom and leash training

Favorite Activities: Snuggling on the couch, chasing squirrels in the backyard/playing in the backyard since he can’t be around other dogs, eating bones/treats.

Looking for: A mellow home where there isn’t a lot of stimulation (i.e. people coming over, young kids). He will prefer to be the only pet and live a chilled life as a sweet companion.

Special needs: On allergy medications. Cytopoint Injections (price varies by vet), Apoquel (~$81 for a month’s supply, depending on where purchased and market value).   

Adoption Fee: $ 250

Cuddly and a great companion!

Howdy! My name is Charlie, and I’m a 4 1/2-year-old, 56-pound Shar Pei Mix male, looking for my furever home.

I’m a special guy who is just a big cuddle bug.  I’ve already been neutered, and I’m fully potty-trained.  As far as my health goes, though, I do have some anxiety and allergy challenges.  My eyes, skin, and ears are typically affected by my allergic reactions, and because of this, I’m currently on a couple of medications.  These include: Cytopoint Injections (price varies by vet), Apoquel (~$81 for a month’s supply depending on where purchased and market value).   

I was taken in with my original owners as a TAP puppy in 2018.  Over the years, I’ve had my fair share of health and behavioral issues, but my humans were always able to manage them.  Things reached another level, though, once my humans had a baby.  Ever since, I’ve become very anxious, territorial, and protective of my baby sister.  When others are coming near or inside my home, I’ll show signs of aggression and will bark, growl, and lunge.  This has just been a really tough transition for me to make, and I don’t think I’ll be able to fully adjust. 

Because of this situation, I think I’d do much better in a home where there isn’t a lot of stimulation (i.e. people coming over, young kids).  I’d also prefer to be the only pet since I’m not dog friendly, and I have a strong prey drive around kitties.  I don’t have any separation anxiety, however, and can be left home alone while at work without any issues. 

I know I’d make a great companion for someone (either a single person or a couple without kids) who is looking for a lazy boy who they can cuddle with on the couch.  Someone with experience with a breed like mine (Shar Pei) would be preferred. 

Do you think you could be the one? If so, my adoption fee is $250 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip.  If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/.  

The Animal Pad recognizes that taking in a new dog can pose a challenge to the entire family. To best set him up for success in a new home, Charlie’s adoption package includes a FREE four-week scholarship with our partner Goodpup (https://goodpup.com/). Goodpup offers virtual, individualized training to ensure you, your dog, and your family have the skills needed to thrive together. GoodPup Scholarships include:
  • • 4+ weeks of positive reinforcement training
  • • 24/7 chat for questions and support
  • • Access to a behavior team to assist in advanced cases
Apply to Adopt Me!