TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Benny

Age: 7 year old

Gender: Male

Breed: Terrier mix

Weight: 26 lbs

Personality: A very loving boy! He loves sitting with and by his people, but doesnt love cuddles.

Education: Good with bathroom and leash training

Favorite Activities: Going on car rides, walks and taking long naps.

Looking for: An understanding and loving family to take care of his needs. He is quite independent and will appreciate dogs and kids who are calm.

Special needs: He is blind, but with other very active senses. Needs Optixcare eye gel applied daily. Monthly cost is $13.00 depending on market value and where purchased.

Adoption Fee: $ 250

Adventurous and loving!

Hi, friends! My name is Benny, and I’m a 7-year-old, Terrier male, weighing in at 26 pounds.  I’m already neutered, and I’m leash-trained, potty-trained, and house-trained.  Technically, I am a special needs dog, but that hasn’t held me down one bit.  I am blind but also very independent – a little too independent, at times! – so I’ll need someone who’s always looking out for my safety and keeping me out of dangerous situations. I do need eye gel applied to my eyes each day to help keep them lubricated.

My foster mama tells me that I’m just one big sweetheart!  I love walks and long naps.  I enjoy car rides, too, and like to look out the window and pretend to see what we are driving by.  But more than anything, I love people and can get along with just about anyone.  Children and I are great together, and I enjoy sitting next to them and listening to a good book they are reading to me.  However, I’m very particular on how I’m being picked up and may snap at you if I’m uncomfortable.  Hmmmm let’s see, what else?  Oh yes, I don’t have any separation anxiety and am fine when you leave the house, but I would prefer sleeping next to you at night.   In fact, I like to reach out and touch you with my paw periodically throughout the night to make sure you’re still right there. 

The best home for me would be with friendly doggie siblings and/or older children who can carefully handle my special needs.  I’d also love a family who would love me unconditionally, while at the same time do their best to keep me safe.  Do I sound like your new best friend? If so, let’s schedule a play date! My adoption fee is $250 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/