TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Bear

Age: 10 years old

Gender: Male

Breed: Lab mix

Weight: 98 lbs

Personality: Very mellow and calm! Older guy and hence likes to be treated with gentleness.

Education: Good with bathroom and leash training

Favorite Activities: Napping is top favorite! Going on walks, watching other dogs play with ball and getting his own from foster mama, enjoying tasty bones.

Looking for: A loving family with lots of lounging around space. A mellow home or a safe spot to retreat in case of hustle and bustle will be great for him!

Adoption Fee: $ 150

Gentle and easy-going!

Grrrrr!! I’m Bear, and I’m a 10-year-old, 98-pound Labrador Retriever Mix looking for my furever home! I came to TAP after being abandoned by my past owners, sadly due to my older age. 

I’m a gentle and easy-going boy who is already potty-trained, leash-trained, and neutered.  All you have to say is “potty time” or “let’s go” while on a leash, and I know exactly what to do.  My health is in pretty good shape, but I will need to be evaluated once I have an established vet.  Being the seasoned guy I am, I have slight vision impairment related to normal aging, and I use eye ointment for extra support.  This condition will not lead to blindness, but I may need eye repair surgery in the future.  I also take Cytopoint injections to help with my allergies. 

I’m a gentle and introverted pup, who loves my humans.  I’m very smart and pick up easily on the schedule you set for me.  I can be energetic when you come home or when it’s time to go for a walk, but other than that, I’m pretty mellow and love my naps.  My favorite things (besides taking naps) are taking walks, chewing on thick teething bones, and occasionally, playing with balls.  While I don’t mind being around other doggies, I like having my alone time and need slow introductions so that I have time to warm up.  I am very gentle around kids of all ages, and I enjoy receiving love from them.  However, no climbing on me, please, and no sudden movements around me since I can’t see as well as I used to. 

Due to my mellow nature, I’d like to be in a mellow home, as well.  However, I’ve done just fine in a busy household with my foster family, living with multiple doggies and constant foot traffic of family and friends who come visit.  I enjoy being in the mix, as well as having a safe area to retreat to when I want some alone time. Overall, I’m a great companion and am just looking for someone special to look past my age and give me a chance. 

My adoption fee is $150 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip.  If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/.



Apply to Adopt Me!