TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Abu

Age: 2.5 years old

Gender: Male

Breed: Terrier mix

Weight: 46 lbs

Personality: Mellow, low maintenance in the home and cuddly!

Education: Good with bathroom and working on leash training when overstimulated

Favorite Activities: Napping, cuddling, eating, chasing birds and squirrels, suntanning.

Looking for: A home where he’s the only animal, very low unpredictability, very calm and peaceful environment and somewhere where he’s able to go outside a few times a day for short walks, potty breaks and to feel the sun on him. A more experienced dog owner who exudes chill vibes to match this pups chill vibes, and is confident in positive reinforcement training.

Special needs: He limps on his front right paw and has arthritis in it. He’s on a medication to manage it, as well as gabapentin to help with his anxiety. Pain management for arthritis and lameness in right front leg includes Carprofen ~$25.00 for 2 months supply and Gabapentin ~$25.00 for 1 month supply, depending on market vale and where purchased. Regular bloodwork needed and recheck needed. Dasuquin Chews to support joint health ~$40.00 for 3 month supply. Cytopoint injections as needed to manage allergies (cost will varying depending on established vet pricing)

Adoption Fee: $ 400

Pawtner-in-crime to your Alladin!

Hi friends! I am Abu! I am not a monkey but an equally fun loving dog and will help you through life’s adventures! I am a 2.5 year old, 46 lb, neutered male Terrier mix. I was part of the Tijuana shopping cart hoarding case rescue, and you can check the story out on IG. I have been at an amazing foster home since then and mastered bathroom and leash manners. However, I do have leash reactivity and need to work on it with positive reinforcement.

I have a charming limp in my front paw which doesn’t stop me from playing but I am happier with shorter walks and pain medication. I have Arthritis in right front elbow, and take Carprofen for pain management (~$35 for months supply, price depends on market value and where purchased), and Gabapentin daily (~$25 for months supply, price depends on market value and where purchased) for anxiety spurs when my leg really hurts. I will need bloodwork on a regular basis, along with Dasuquin Chews to support joint health (~$45.00 for 3 months supply depending on market vale and where purchased). I am also receiving Cytopoint injections every 4-6 weeks to help manage my allergies.

My foster mama can vouch for the fact that I am super sweet and cuddly. I am easy going and low maintenance guy who loves to nap and snuggle. My love language is touch and I want to just snuggle all the time. Playing with other dogs get me very excited! I loved to play with my foster brother when I had one, but will also gladly cuddle on the couch and watch a movie. I haven’t met kids or cats yet.

I would do best in a house that is mellow and with not a lot of unpredictability. I am not one for long runs or hikes because of my limp but I would be an ace at napping and short walks, and Netflix and chilling. I do fine being alone and resting in my crate but would love to sleep next to you if you are home. I would be happiest as an only pet and soaker of all the attention, but social playdates would be nice too. 

My adoption fee is $400 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/

 

Apply to Adopt Me!