TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Zoot (Urgently needs a foster)

Age: 4 years old

Gender: Female

Breed: Terrier mix

Weight: 52 lbs

Personality: Adventurous, but easy-going gal!

Education: Good with bathroom and leash training

Favorite Activities: Going on adventures outside, swimming, paddleboarding, hiking, cuddling and napping hard!

Looking for: A loving family who will make her a part of life's grand adventures. She'd love exercise and mental stimulation and be a great outdoorsy partner. Ideal as an only dog.

Special needs: Working on leash reactivity training. Receiving Cytopoint injections to help manage allergies, along with with eating Royal Canin Veterinary Diet Adult Ultamino Dry Dog Food for allergies (~$125.00 per bag, prices may vary on market value and where purchased). Must consult with a veterinarian and monitor skin issues longterm.

Adoption Fee: $ 250

Life’s a hoot with Zoot! 

Hi pals! My name is Zoot. I’m a happy-go-lucky gal with a heart of gold. I’m a 4-year-old, 52-pound terrier mix. I was initially rescued from Mexico in 2021 and adopted into a loving home. Unfortunately, due to some unforeseen hardships (unrelated to me), I need to find a new furever family. I’ve proven myself as a good girl and I hope I can start a new chapter with you! 

Whether it’s paddle boarding, going to the Coronado dog beach, or a trip up to the snow—I’m up for the adventure! I’m a friendly girl who loves playing with other pooches at doggy daycare or at the park but would be better at home as an only dog. I am a very active girl and I love chasing after balls and sticks. I’m a big fan of all people, kids too! I like chasing after cats and bunnies, so we probably wouldn’t make the best roommates. Even though I’m an active girl, I also adore cuddling with my people. I can be quite the couch potato! I’m happiest whenever I’m with my humans. 

If I’m not exploring out in public, I like running laps in the yard, going for a swim, and taking good old fashion walks. I am working through some leash reactivity and making great strides with positive reinforcement training, and working on my barrier reactivity when dogs walk by “my fence”.

I’m a well-behaved gal who never has accidents in the house. I can hold it for quite some time if needed.  I have a bark that can scare off intruders, but once I know it’s a friend, I’ll greet them with a wagging tail. I’m a great protector! I can be in the crate for a little while and sometimes I just use it as a place to nap. I am not a fan of sharing my food (honestly, who is?!) and working on resource guarding. I’m a good girl who listens to commands and can’t wait to keep learning from you! 

I would love to be in a home with an active person or family to share adventures with. I will be a great running pawtner. I think I would do best as an only dog to get all your love and food! I promise to always be your loyal loving girl in return. I’m the most deserving pooch and would love a second chance at a furever home with you! My adoption fee is $250 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application

Apply to Adopt Me!