TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Yolo

Age: 10 years old

Gender: Male

Breed: Chihuahua mix

Weight: 6 lbs

Personality: Sweet and snuggly! Has a spicy side where he lets his boundaries known but relaxes when he trusts. Social boy!

Education: Good with bathroom and leash training

Favorite Activities: Likes to cuddle, snuggle, touch his people!

Looking for: A loving family with lots of snuggles. Being an only dog will be good, but he can be with calm dogs, and kitties. Older kids are better who respect his space. He'd love to be taken out as he enjoys being in cafes etc.

Special needs: Glaucoma in left eye, requiring daily eye drops Dorzolamide HCl Timolol Maleate Ophthalmic Solution ~$20.00 per bottle depending on where purchased and market value. Requires soft food, missing many teeth.

Adoption Fee: $ 200

Living life to the fullest!

Hello! My name is Yolo, and I’m a 10-year-old, 6-pound Chihuahua mix male looking for my furever home.  I was rescued from a small town, called Santiago de Yolomecatl in Oaxaca, Mexico, where I roamed the streets as a street dog.  Life was ruff for me there, and I frequently had to stave off getting attacked by other dogs.  However, I’ve since been able to relax and give my nerves a break in my loving foster home!

I am fully potty-trained and leash-trained, and I’ve already been neutered.  My health is in decent shape, though I do have glaucoma in my left eye.  Currently, I take daily eye drops and use Dorzolamide HCI Timolol Maleate Ophthalmic Solution (~$20.00 per bottle depending on where purchased and market value).  I’m also missing a lot of my teeth, so I require soft food during mealtimes.  Other than that, though, no other issues!

My foster mama says that I’m a sweet and spicy boy! My personality is pretty mellow, and I’m not a yappy guy like many who are my size.  I’m pretty independent, too, and I do well alone at home without any signs of separation anxiety.  I’m not afraid to let humans or animals know my boundaries, but once you’ve earned my trust, I’m incredibly tolerant and loving.  In fact, my favorite activities include cuddling, being on top of or near my people while on the couch, and going out and meeting new friends.    

I think I would thrive as being the only dog in the home or with other doggie siblings who have the same type of chill energy.  Older kiddos would be A-OK with me, and I’m open to living with a kitty or two.  Other than that, I’d love my owner to take me on daily walks around the neighborhood, as well as to restaurants, bars, and parks.  After all, I’m a social kind of guy!

Do we sound like a match? If so, there is no day like today to meet me.  My adoption fee is $200 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip.  If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/.