TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Scar

Age: 1 year old

Gender: Male

Breed: Lab mix

Weight: 48 lbs

Personality: Funny, goofy boy with an energetic streak! He is friendly with dogs, but will need help curbing his enthusiasm with love.

Education: Good with bathroom, crate and leash training

Favorite Activities: Long-line time at the park, snuffle mats, snuggling up to you on the couch and passing out in your lap as you watch TV or work.

Looking for: An active family where he will be loved and gets lots of playtime. A yard would be great for him!

Adoption Fee: $ 400

Scar will be the King of your Heart!

Hakuna Matata, I’m Scar! Don’t let my name fool you—I’m nothing like that villainous lion from The Lion King. In fact, I’m a 1-year-old, 48-pound Lab mix with a heart of gold and a playful spirit. My journey began in Rosarito, where I survived an attack by another dog. But guess what? That hasn’t dimmed my sunny outlook on life one bit!

I’m eager to make friends with about 90% of the dogs I meet, although my energy can sometimes rub a few the wrong way. Cats? Well, let’s just say my high prey drive makes it unlikely we’ll be best buds, unless we take it slow.

I’m a champion snuggler and a lover of all things cozy. Every morning, I greet my humans with a chorus of happy whines, snorts, and howls, followed by somersaults of excitement. I just want to wiggle in front of you and soak up all the pets. There’s nothing better than curling up next to you and dreaming away while you watch TV or work.

My favorite thing in the world is the park where I can run and play with all the space I need. While I’ve been good in my foster’s apartment, having a yard or more park time would be ideal for me to stretch my legs and burn off energy. I’m working on all my manners, especially maintaining leash manners in high-energy environments.

Training-wise, I’m a superstar. I sit before going through doors, learned “down” in about five minutes, and I thrive on treats and love. I learn really quickly and am so so eager to please. I have learned “go to your spot” where I go to my bed and sit there like the goodest boy until I’m released. (Foster mom says it’s great for when she’s cooking, preparing a snuffle blanket, or just wants some space. Why she would want space from me….???) While I’m about 80% perfect on a leash, new areas can be distracting. I’m also housebroken and crate trained. I’ve learned so much impulse control and love playing with puzzle feeders, snuffle mats, and fetching balls at the park. I used to have some stranger danger, but with patience, I’ve improved leaps and bounds. Now, I do great with strangers on the street and love having visitors.

I’m looking for an active family who can get me out of the house at least three times a day if there’s no yard. Older kids would be best for me because I can get a bit too enthusiastic and might accidentally knock over smaller children. I’m still working on my stranger danger, so I need someone who can help me build my confidence with positive reinforcement training. With grace and patience, I know I’ll acclimate to my new home. So, are you ready to let me be the Simba to your Pride Rock? I’d love to be part of your pack!

My adoption fee is $400 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/

Apply to Adopt Me!