TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Princess

Age: 8 years old

Gender: Female

Breed: Chihuahua mix

Weight: 11 lbs

Personality: She started as shy and scared, and has decompressed to bloom into a perfect princess! She is so loving, it's amazing! She is calm and mellow, and goes with the flow.

Education: Good with bathroom and leash training.

Favorite Activities: Walks, petting, snuggling, just being with her human.

Looking for: A mellow home with lots of love and cuddles! She will do well with confident dogs and kiddos too.

Adoption Fee: $ 150

Loves with all her heart!

Hello, royal subjects! My name is Princess, and I’m a furbulous female Chihuahua Mix, looking for a loving home.  I’m 8 years old, weigh 11 pounds, and have already been spayed.  I’m also proud to say that my health is in tip-top shape.

Sadly, though, my past has been no fairytale.  I was taken in by the San Diego Humane Society after my former owner was forced to surrender me due to having too many animals in the home.  It was a traumatic situation, no doubt, and I arrived to the shelter tense, shaken, and emotionally shut down.  I even had to stay in the office away from the other doggies to allow some quiet time to decompress.  Thankfully, though, TAP soon scooped me up, and I’ve done a complete 180 emotionally while in foster care.

I’m an easy-going girl who likes to go with the flow, but it takes me some time to warm up to new people.  Once I settle into the new environment, though, I’m the happiest, most loving pup! My favorite activities include taking walks, snuggling, chewing on marrow bones, and just being with my humans.  I also love getting pets, and I promise to greet you with plenty of body wiggles and tail wags. 

As far as my training goes, I arrived to my foster mama’s home pretty scared of the big, bad world.  I had never spent much time in a backyard before and had certainly never been on a leash.  But now, I love taking my walks, am completely leash trained, and am open to meeting new people and doggie friends when out and about.  I use the doggy door when I need to go potty, and I’ve even learned how to “sit.” I’m sure I could learn even more commands, too – especially since I love treats and am extremely food-motivated.  Finally, I do just fine when left behind (no separation anxiety here!), so no need to worry about me when you leave the home. 

I think I would do well in a low-energy home with an easy-going, confident doggie sibling that I could pal around with.  Kitties are an unknown for me, but I think I’d do well with or without kiddos around.  Other than that, just give me plenty of love and affection, and I promise to be yours furever! 

Ready to rule the kingdom together? My adoption fee is $150 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip.  If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/.


Apply to Adopt Me!