TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Lu

Age: 4 years old

Gender: Female

Breed: Shepherd mix

Weight: 40 lbs

Personality: Very sweet girl, but very shy first. Working on her anxiety and triggers.

Education: Bathroom trained and working on leash training, will need to continue patiently working on desensitization to triggers.

Favorite Activities: Loves going to the beach and playing with her family.

Looking for: A loving home with lots of patience as she comes out of her shell. She is better at a calm, adults-only home.

Special needs: She is scared of loud noises, fireworks and fast moving triggers. She will need patience to get trained out of them.

Adoption Fee: $ 300

The most b-LU-tiful!

Hey guys! My name is Lu and I am a 4 year old, female Shepherd mix, weighing about 38 lbs and waiting to be spayed. I have had a ruff start to life. I came to TAP from Mexico, where I was shot at in the streets and that has scarred me for a long time. I am trying to get over the trauma, but fireworks and loud noises bring it all back. I freeze when that happens and my mama talks me out of it with a lot of patience and I start walking again. We will be going for a Neuro consult just to rule out any issues with my hind legs, and we will keep y’all posted! My foster mama is doing me good and I am all bathroom and leash trained. When my frightened freeze happens, please remember not to tug on my leash or my flight will kick in. I dislike the Seaworld fireworks, but I am learning to get better and my teeth no longer grind!

I am learning to heal and see the world for the beautiful place that it is! I am good with dogs, all happy and buddy-like, BUT I need a slowwwww and easy intro. I am timid initially and will let them know when I need space, but once I am comfortable, I am a playful pooch to keep up with! I have seen cats and I havent reacted. I will only react to something moving fast and then I wanna chase! But let’s not test till I am healed inside out. Same with kiddos. I am not comfortable around teenagers and young boys yet. Once you scratch this rough surface, inside is all gooey goodness! My mama says I am a total angel and the sweetest girl! I can be left alone at home too, and I may shuffle and mope for a lil bit, but settle down quickly. I enjoy going to the dog beach but mostly if my family is ready to play. I stay wary of dogs, unless some cool one catches my fancy! I pawmise I am the goodest gal you could find around, with a hint of occasional sass! With my even temperament, love for car-rides, non-stealing of food, settling everywhere, I will make a wonderful companion.

I just need someone extremely patient to hold my paw while I heal completely, and then we can be furever dates! I will prefer a calm family without loud noises and sudden movements. A yard to run around in and frequent beach trips would be awesome! A polite, friendly dog to be my mentor would be great! I would pass on kids for now since I get triggered easily. I pawmise the utmost fun, once I am desensitized of the harshness. If you think you can be my guardian angels, please come and say hi! My adoption fee is $300 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/

Apply to Adopt Me!