TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Fletcher

Age: 6 years old

Gender: Male

Breed: Terrier mix

Weight: 35 lbs

Personality: Such a sweetheart! He is secretly a fish. ;)

Education: Good with bathroom and leash training

Favorite Activities: Being in the water!! Swimming, fetching, paddleboarding.

Looking for: A loving home with a pool or a beach access. He doesnt like cats and doesnt want to be around kids. He needs slow intros around dogs. He must have water access to be his happiest!

Adoption Fee: $ 250

Water is the ticket to happiness with this guy!

Hi, everyone! My name is Fletcher, and I’m a neutered 6-year-old Terrier mix male, weighing in at 35 pounds. 

My background isn’t the sunniest: I spent three years running the streets of Tijuana before I was rescued by TAP.  It was then that it was discovered that I was suffering from TVT; however, I’ve fully recovered since then and am in great health now! I was relinquished by my former owner, but I truly feel that this time, everything will work out and I’ll find my perfect fit. 

I’m a super-smart guy, as I’ve already mastered potty-training and leash-training.  I’m all good with crate training, too, and will put myself to bed in my crate when I’m ready.  I don’t have any special needs or separation anxiety when my humans leave, but I do take Fluoxetine sometimes when I get too obsessive with my ball. 

I’m a super-active boy, and there is nothing that makes me happier than swimming around and fetching a ball out of any body of water. (My foster mama says that I should have been born a fish!) I’m also a companion type of pup: I’m fiercely loyal and loving (to a fault), and I’m always up for any adventure with you.  I’ve even mastered using my paw to grab your hand for affection and can roll down my own car window so I can get a better glimpse of what’s outside.  I can eat off a fork when sharing a meal, and I enjoy having a glass of water by my bed when I go to sleep.  Other than that, I promise to follow you around the house at all times and investigate everything you’re doing. 

My ideal furever home would be with an active couple or single person who loves outdoor adventures (especially swimming!) I’m thinking someone who wants to paddle board with their pup trailing behind would be a perfect fit for me.  This home should probably not have any young kids or any other animals (definitely no kitties, though I can get along with other doggies with a slow introduction).  A pool or regular access to the beach is mandatory.  Also, I’d prefer that the home I go to be complete, meaning that I’d like my new home to be with a couple/family, rather than with a single person on the dating scene.  You see, I can be wary of new people, so it’s hard for me to be introduced to new humans once I’ve already adjusted.  Finally, as I mentioned above, I’m one smart dude (I can open doors with my paws, after all, and finish food puzzles lickety split), so I need constant training and mental stimulation in order to be my best self. 

Do we sound like a match? If so, my adoption fee is $250 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip.  If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/.


Apply to Adopt Me!