TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Chiquita

Age: 4 years old

Gender: Female

Breed: Australian Shepherd mix

Weight: 44 lbs

Personality: Sweet lover girl with medium energy.

Education: Good with bathroom and leash training

Favorite Activities: Chew toys, playing outside with my resident dog, cuddling on the couch.

Looking for: A loving home ready for an easy-going snuggle girl with playful spurts.

Special needs: TVT survivor . Missing part of her bottom jaw, doesn’t stop her! She even still needs a slow feeder bowl :) Mandatory lab work required twice a year (check kidneys - she has a condition where she loses protein from her urine. On 2 medications to help manage for life- Doxycycline (Price for a months supply ~$20, depending on where purchased and market value) and Telmarstain (Price for a months supply ~$15, depending on where purchased).Hills Prescription Diet Kidney Care K/D (dry) costs ~$100 per bag, depending on where purchased.

Adoption Fee: $ 250

Go bananas for this little cutie!

Hola, amigos! My name is Chiquita. I’m a snuggly, playful girl who is as sweet as banana pie. I’m a 4-year-old, 44-pound, spayed Australian Shepherd mix. When I was rescued off the streets of Rosarito, I had a bad case of TVT. I’m missing part of my bottom jaw, but it doesn’t slow me down (in fact, I still eat from a slow-feeder bowl). I’m not just surviving, I’m thriving!

I’m a super friendly girlie who gets along with everyone I meet. I love meeting new humans and do well with kids, too. I adore playing with other dogs and I’m best buds with my furry foster sibling. I’m not sure how I’d do with cats. I am medium-energy and love getting outside to play in the yard to play. I adore toys, walks, and getting exercise. On the other paw, I’m also a big snuggler and will never turn down some couch cuddles. I’m a little love bug!

I’m already bathroom and house-trained. I enjoy getting out on the leash, but I can pull and be reactive toward other dogs (off-leash, I’m totally fine!). I don’t have any separation anxiety but I always prefer your company. I have a condition where I lose protein through my urine and require twice-a-year checkups and lab work. I take Doxycycline ( ~$20 per month) and Telmarstain (~$15 per month) to help manage it. I eat Hills Prescription Diet Kidney Care K/D (dry) which costs ~$100 per bag. This extra TLC helps keep my tail wagging!

If you’re looking for a low-maintenance gal who will always put a smile on your face, I’m the one for you! I enjoy having another dog around and can be in a home with kids as well. I’d make a great wfh buddy! I would love a yard where I can play or plenty of trips out for exercise. So what do you say? Pick this banana from the bunch and make her day!

My adoption fee is $250 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/

Apply to Adopt Me!