TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Chewy

Age: 7 months old

Gender: Female

Breed: Chihuahua mix

Weight: 20 lbs

Personality: Very sweet and snuggly girl, building confidence and getting out of her shell. Needs lots of love and words of affirmation.

Education: Good with bathroom and leash training(needs positive reinforcement). Working on separation anxiety.

Favorite Activities: Snuggles, playing with her foster siblings (dogs), hugs, playing fetch, walks

Looking for: A loving and patient family who will let her come out of her shell with lots of love. A gentle and confident dogs would be great for her as mentor! Lots of encouragement will do wonders for her. She is already so sweet!

Adoption Fee: $ 500

Snuggly and loving!

Why, hello there! My name is Chewy, and I’m a 7-month-old Long-Haired Chi Mix, weighing in at 20 pounds. 

My foster mama says that I’m just the sweetest girl! I enjoy snuggles, playing with my (foster) doggie siblings, getting hugs, and playing fetch.  Most of all, though, I love my people – so much so that I will run and literally put myself into their arms. 

Over the last few months, I’ve been working hard on my potty training and have almost mastered it.  I enjoy taking walks and do well on a leash, but I like to get constant support and encouragement when I get scared of something outside.  Crates and I do not mix, so I’d prefer if you did not put me in one! I’ve also already been spayed.

One thing I’ve been working hard on is my anxiety.  I have difficulty adjusting to new people and places, and I have a moderate level of separation anxiety when my humans leave me behind.  However, with some love, patience, and additional training, I know I’ll be able to build the confidence I need in order to greatly improve in these areas! I will be scared and nervous during our first meet, but please know that I do open up to be the sweetest pup! Also, I love teh great outdoors and I feel very brave and ‘out of the woods’ when ‘in the woods!’

My ideal household would be one with a gentle, yet playful, doggie sibling to help me gain confidence.  I’d also prefer to be with someone who works from home and one who could also help me work on my trust and anxiety issues. Kitties and I do just fine together, and I think I’d do well around older kids, just as long as they weren’t too noisy and allowed me time to warm up on my own.

Overall, I promise to be your most loving and loyal companion! Once I’ve bonded with you, I’ll show non-stop love and affection.  Do we sound like a match? My adoption fee is $500 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip.  If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/.

 

Apply to Adopt Me!