TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Alonso

Age: 6 years old

Gender: Male

Breed: Border Collie mix

Weight: 45 lbs

Personality: Mellow and so sweet!

Education: Good with bathroom and leash training

Favorite Activities: Cuddling on the couch, sun bathing in the yard, napping, playing with his toys, walks, car rides, belly rubs, etc.

Looking for: A home where he can be the adored only pet. A mellow home would be great!

Special needs: Science Diet K/D wet food (chicken/vegetable) to help manage his kidney issues. Has limited vision in the right eye and blind in the left eye, needs 0.5% Ketorolac Solution, which costs ~$20 a bottle, depending on the market value and where it is purchased.

Adoption Fee: $ 250

A great companion!

Hi, friends! My name is Alonso, and I’ve come all the way from Tijuana to find my furever home!  

I’m almost 6 year old old Border Collie mix male, who weighs 45 pounds.  I’m potty-trained, house-trained, and leash-trained, and I’ve already been neutered, too.  As far as my health goes, I’m on Science Diet K/D wet food (chicken/vegetable) to help manage my kidney issues.  I also have limited vision in my right eye and am blind in my left eye, so I use 0.5% Ketorolac Solution, which costs ~$20 a bottle, depending on the market value and where it is purchased.

I’m the sweetest boy! I love my humans and to be spoiled by them.  My favorite activities include cuddling on the couch, sun-bathing in the yard, napping during the day, getting belly rubs, and going for car rides and walks in the neighborhood.  I’m generally a pretty mellow type of guy, but I do get zoomies in the backyard, and I like to play fetch, too.  Although I love having company, I also do fine on my own with very little signs of separation anxiety.

I’d prefer to be the only animal in the home since I don’t do well around other doggies or kitties.  Older kids (eight and older), though, would be a great fit for me. Basically, as long as I have plenty of time around my people, I will thrive be my best self!

Do I sound like two paws up to you? If so, my adoption fee is $250 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip.  If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/.

The Animal Pad recognizes that taking in a new dog can pose a challenge to the entire family. To best set him up for success in a new home, Alonso’s adoption package includes a FREE four-week scholarship with our partner Goodpup (https://goodpup.com/). Goodpup offers virtual, individualized training to ensure you, your dog, and your family have the skills needed to thrive together. GoodPup Scholarships include:
  • • 4+ weeks of positive reinforcement training
  • • 24/7 chat for questions and support
  • • Access to a behavior team to assist in advanced cases


Apply to Adopt Me!