TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Zippers

Age: 1 year old

Gender: Female

Breed: Terrier mix

Weight: 17 lbs

Personality: A social butterfly and a total sweetheart!

Education: Progressing rapidly on bathroom and good with leash training

Favorite Activities: Tug-of-war with other dogs, bouncy playing with toys (either solo or with other dogs), snuggling in for movie night, chewing on toys

Looking for: A loving family who will make her a part of life's grand adventures. She'd love to be with kids(for extra pets) and dogs(for extra play!)

Adoption Fee: $ 450

Full of love and charm!

Hi! I’m Zippy, and I’m a 1-year-old Terrier mix female.  I’m scheduled to be spayed, and I’m 17 pounds of pure charm. 

My journey to find my furever home has been quite the adventure.  You see, I landed in the Ensenada pound at the end of July, or maybe the beginning of August – who’s really keeping track, right? I was stuck into a kennel with about 30 other puppies, and let’s just say, it wasn’t a five-star hotel experience.  Thankfully, some wonderful folks from TAP stepped into rescue us, and I was one of the lucky three who made it out of that kennel alive.  It was suspected that I was exposed to both parvo and distemper, but I was never officially tested.  After some hospital time and a stint at the vet tech’s house, I found my way to Los Adoptables, where I’m now basking in the good life!

A little bit about me, you ask? Well, my foster mama says that I’m incredibly loving, sweet, and happy – your all-around perfect pup!  I’m a social girl, and I crave affection and love to be snuggled (especially before going in my crate) and held.  My other favorite things are tug-o-war with other doggie friends, fetch, chase, chew toys and lick toys, and eating! As you can probably tell, I’m a medium-energy gal and act like a typical older puppy — playful, wiggly, and always ready for a good time!  I do have the tendency to get a zoomie-burst-of-energy every now and then where I do some crazy running, followed by a crash-out session. 

As far as my training goes, I’m a quick learner: I’ve mastered “sit” and I’ve come to learn that being still and calm results in treats and meals.  I’ve mastered being in the crate and am a perfect angel while inside.  Potty training, though, is a work in progress, as I’m still learning how to alert others when it’s time to do my business.  Holding it overnight is something I’m working hard on, too, but don’t worry, I promise I’ll get there soon enough!

My ideal home would be pretty much anywhere, though I’d thrive as a family dog around kiddos (especially since I love the attention, the activity, and the belly rubs).  Because I’m such a social girl, I’d prefer not to be left alone all day.  A doggie sibling (or two) would be great, too, as I love the company of other furry companions. I have been successfully introduced and live with a cat. I am calm and respectful around, then quite honestly, they bore me:)

Do we sound like a good match? If so, come meet me soon, or I’ll be gone in a flash! My adoption fee is $450 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip.  If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/.