TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Shiro

Age: 3 years old

Gender: Male

Breed: Australian Cattle Dog mix

Weight: 41 lbs

Personality: Very chilled out at home. Enjoys a good play session and relaxes after. Has reactivity to other dogs.

Education: Good with bathroom training. Has severe leash reactivity and is muzzle trained for walks. Will need patient training to help with his anxiety and manage him when he sees other dogs.

Favorite Activities: Sunbathing, belly rubs, napping, going down slides at the park, and playing keep away and tug-o-war.

Looking for: An amazingly patient home with a backyard where he can exercise and live comfortable without other dogs and limited walks. He is good around cats and he will prefer older teens who are respectful, both with proper introductions.

Special needs: He will need continued training for leash reactivity and anxiety. Muzzle trained for walks. A backyard is a must to help avoid interaction with other dogs.

Adoption Fee: $ 400

Ready to blossom!

Hi, friends!  My name is Shiro, and I’m a 3-year-old, 41-pound, Australian Cattle Dog Mix male, looking to find my furever home.

I’m in great health, and I’ve already been neutered.  I am potty-trained, crate-trained, and house-trained, too.  My leash-training, however, is a work in progress.  Because of my extreme reactivity and fear towards other doggies, I must wear a muzzle while on walks.  I tend to scream, howl, and lunge at them at any distance, and I must be directed away immediately. 

I was originally found on the streets of Mexico and was adopted by a nice family in 2021.  While with them, I was able to make great strides in my behavior, as well as with my general anxiety.  However, I really struggle with interactions with other doggies, so much so that is provides me with a great deal of anxiety and stress.  Because of this, I’m hoping to find a permanent home with someone who can provide the environment, patience, and love I need in order to overcome these issues and become my best self!

Despite my anxieties around other dogs, I am extremely low-maintenance and friendly towards all people.  I LOVE meeting new friends and cuddling with my people.  When with my humans, I have zero anxiety and possess a gentle temperament.  I generally have a low energy level, but when I get the zoomies every now and then, I love getting a good playtime sesh in!

My favorite activities include sunbathing, belly rubs, napping, going down slides at the park, and playing keep away and tug-o-war. I also LOVE having your attention and getting endless pets.   I’m extremely food-motivated, so I’m easily trainable and love showing off the tricks that I’ve mastered.  I don’t show any signs of separation anxiety and do just fine when you are out of the house.

The household I would most thrive in would be a house with a backyard where I could play all day and sunbathe, without any potential interactions with another dog.  Because of my severe reaction to other canines, I would prefer to be the only pet in the home.  However, I do like kitties, so I think they would be A-OK, as long as there is proper introduction.  I also think I would do well with kiddos but would need some time to warm up to them first.  Other than that, all I need is a home with lots of love and lots of pets! 

Are you the family for me? If so, my adoption fee is $400 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip.  If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/

Apply to Adopt Me!