TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Scrat

Age: 1 year old

Gender: Male

Breed: Shepherd mix

Weight: 50 lbs

Personality: High energy boy and loves to play! Very loyal.

Education: Good with bathroom and working on leash training. He has some pulling habits, that positive reinforcement and conditioning will help with!

Favorite Activities: Going on long walks and runs, training and getting treats, playing with ball

Looking for: A loving family who will make him a part of life's grand adventures outdoors. He needs to work on separation anxiety, and being a part of doggie pack will be beneficial. Older kids, or adults-only preferred.

Adoption Fee: $ 400

A high-energy boy who is up for any adventure!

Hey, y’all! I’m Scrat. I’m a 1-year-old Shepherd mix, weighing in at 50 pounds. I’m already fixed, and I’m house and potty-trained, too! Walking with a leash is a bit of a challenge for me since I tend to pull, so a little training (and patience) should do the trick. My biggest challenge, though, is my separation anxiety. Basically, crates and I do not mix. Put me in one when you leave, and I’ll have severe anxiety that will reach a level of panic. Outside of a crate, though, I’ll whimper for a short time but am able to calm myself down. I’m not destructive when left for long periods (outside of a crate), will sleep on the couch and entertain myself with a bone or toy.

Now that that’s out of the way, let’s get to who I am: I am high energy and love to play! I like long walks to get my energy out, and I’d make a great running companion once I’m properly leash-trained. I enjoy being around other doggies, too, and would love to play with them at the dog park once I learn a few basic commands. Because of my energy level and my playful nature, though, it can be difficult sometimes for me to calm down and relax. I’m not aggressive, but I can’t help myself sometimes and will jump on new human friends and want to play with them. For that reason, a home with small children probably isn’t the best fit for me. Finally, I love my humans, and I’ve been told that I’m a great companion. I’m loyal to the core, and I just want to be involved in any adventures my furever family takes me on. I am a pack animal, after all, and I prefer to be with my pack at all times.

My ideal household would be an active one who includes me in all the fun things they do outside of the home. I’d also prefer to be with other doggies. I’d also recommend that I don’t live with a first-time dog owner. I’m an intelligent boy who needs to be challenged, so I’d love to have someone who could be a strong “Alpha” presence in order to help me understand how to interact appropriately and raise me to reach my full potential.
Do I sound like a match to you? If so, let’s meet! My adoption fee is $400 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/

Apply to Adopt Me!