TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Sadie The Boxer

Age: 3 years old

Gender: Female

Breed: Boxer mix

Weight: 66 lbs

Personality: Very sweet and loving! Overall calm with bouts of goofy, excited energy.

Education: Good with bathroom and working on leash training. Needs some positive reinforcement training for leash reactivity.

Favorite Activities: cuddling with her people, sleeping (preferably with her head on your lap), sticking her head out the car window, walks (in calm areas), charming every human that walks into the house, chewing on squeaky toys

Looking for: A home with lots of snuggles and couch cuddles! She is ready to go on adventures or is equally happy to snooze all day. She will benefit from continued training for leash reactivity, and if she goes home with another dog, an experienced owner to manage her food guarding towards dogs.

Special needs: Skin allergies are being managed with daily Apolquel pills (~$81.00 for a months supply. Price will vary depending on where purchased and market value). Currently eating Purina Pro Plan Veterinary Diets HA Hydrolyzed Vegetarian Canine Formula (bag).

Adoption Fee: $ 250

No sad days with Sadie!

Hey guys! My name is Sadie, and since I have a bunch of namesakes here, let’s call me Sadie the Boxer, or Sadie 3. I am a 3 year old, spayed female Boxer mix. I had a family but unfortunately it didn’t work out, so here I am at my foster home, waiting to find my new family! I am potty trained, crate trained, and do well left home alone free roaming. I walk well on leash when there aren’t distractions around. When I see other dogs on leash I get excited and will whine/pull towards them (they say it’s called “leash reactivity”). I am working hard on desensitization and improving every day. I am polite with my doggie foster sibling on walks – it’s just those new dogs that distract me!

I am a sweet and goofy gal, with medium sort of energy. I am a lil shadow of my family and follow them around, waiting for affection. I am a true lap dog, regardless of my size! If you’ll let me, I love to fall asleep tucked against you or with my chin on your leg. I am very intuitive and in touch with my family’s emotions. My boxer energy comes out with a few bouts of energetic play a day, but I mostly enjoy lounging about. I do well with all sorts of human guests coming over; I love a good party! I can be called dog-selective, but I am doing great living in my foster home with a canine companion. I prefer calm dogs and proper introductions. I have minor resource guarding towards other dogs, in the form of growling if they approach me while I’m eating my meals. What can I say, I like my food! If I go home with a doggie sibling, an owner who has experience with resource guarding, or is willing to learn how to manage this behavior, would be ideal. I don’t have experience with cats or kids yet.

I would do well in either an active or chill home, as long as I have people to cuddle with! I’m already seeing improvements on my reactivity in my foster home, so keeping that training up would be great. While I do love a good sunbathing session, I don’t necessarily need a yard, as long as I get a couple walks to get out and sniff I am happy. I’d love a home with people who will continue to help me improve on leash and be my best self! My adoption fee is $250 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/.

Apply to Adopt Me!