TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Ricky Martin

Age: 7.5 years old

Gender: Male

Breed: German Shepherd mix

Weight: 32 lbs

Personality: Very chilled-out, sweet boy, who's looking for a chance to love!

Education: Good with bathroom and leash training. Can wear belly bands too.

Favorite Activities: Napping, meal time, playing tug-of-war (gently as he doesn't have all of his teeth!), chasing his humans around the yard for play time, laying on the couch with his humans, car rides, belly rubs.

Looking for: A forever home with lots of cuddles and patience to let him decompress. He prefers a mellow life and a yard to free roam. He will do well both as an only dog or with a doggie pack.

Special needs: Ricky has osteoarthritis and some stiffness in his hind limbs. He still can run and play but he does not go for long or frequent walks and may have days where he is slower. He has done well with over-the-counter cosamin and prescription Gabapentin which costs ~$5.00-10.00 a month depending on where purchased and market value . He leaks a very small amount of urine when he gets up from a seated or laying position. He tolerates belly bands well when he needs to wear them. He needs the appropriate time and space to meet new humans, and needs to have trust in order to be picked up.

Adoption Fee: $ 200

Livin’ the Vida Lova!

Hola, amigos! My name is Ricky… as in the suave singer Ricky Martin. I promise I won’t make you live the Vida Loca because I’m an easy-going lover boy! I’m 7 years and 8 months old. I’m a German Shepherd mix, but I’m a nice medium size at just 32 pounds.

When I was first rescued from Tijuana I was in very ruff shape. I had a neck tumor, multiple hernias, and was completely shut down. Now that I’ve had surgeries, I’m a new dog! I’m coming out of my shell more every day and know that I’ll continue to flourish in a furever home. I have osteoarthritis and some stiffness in my hind limbs. I still can run and play but I don’t go for long walks and may have days when I’m slower. I’ve done well with over-the-counter Cosamin and prescription Gabapentin which costs ~$5.00-10.00 a month. I leak a very small amount of urine when I get up from a seated or laying position and will wear a belly band when needed. Even though my first act came with a lot of hurdles, I’m so excited for act two with a family of my own! Maybe I’ll even get an encore?

I’m a friendly fella who gets along with pooches and people, kids too! I’m an independent guy, but I also thrive as part of a pack. I can be a bit hesitant around strangers, but give me some time (and a treat) and I’ll perk right up! I enjoy playing chase in the yard and a little tug-o-war, but I don’t need a ton of strenuous exercise. I also do great in the car and like to go with the flow. I’m pawfectly happy napping at your feet or cuddling up on the couch! I’m guaranteed to make you smile and laugh daily with my little sprints and cute “piggy” noises.

I’m a smart boy who is quickly adjusting to my new life. I’m house and bathroom trained and do fine on the leash (but prefer being a free-range doggo). I don’t have any separation anxiety and I’m happy chilling while you’re out and about. I let out a bark when I’m trying to communicate with you, but I’m getting better at not alerting too often. I’m totally food motivated, so I can’t wait to keep learning with you!

Since I’m such a sweetie, I’d do well in a variety of furever homes. After everything I’ve been through it will take me some time to build trust and get comfortable. Once given that time, I will be the happiest boy! I’ve done well in my foster home as part of a furry pack, but I also think I’d be happy flying solo if I get to spend my days with you. So what do you say? I pawmise you’ll be singing Ricky Martin’s praises in no time!

My adoption fee is $200 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/

Apply to Adopt Me!