TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Pierre

Age: 3 years old

Gender: Male

Breed: Lab mix

Weight: 46 lbs

Personality: Very sweet and loving! Learning to be such a good boy!

Education: House and leash trained

Favorite Activities: Getting treats- especially soft chewy ones, going on his short sniffaries, gnawing on a rope toy, big cozy dog beds, scratches around his neck and ears, sunbathing on the back patio, hanging out with everyone/being included, car rides

Looking for: A loving family who will pull him from his past into the most loving future. He will need love and patience, and plenty of playing balls!

Special needs: TVT survivor. He will also need a 1 year check up with the oral surgeon to evaluate his palate. He is on Carprofen and Gabapentin to help with his leg lameness (Monthly cost for both prescriptions is $35-40.00 depending on market value and where purchased) and Dasuquin. As well as Prozac and Clonidine for anxiety, and doing great! Monthly cost for prescription is $15-20.00 depending on market value and where purchased.

Adoption Fee: $ 350

Sir Pierre, knight of hearts!

Hullo there! My name is Pierre, and I am a 3 year old, male neutered Lab mix, weighing about 46 lbs. I was rescued from Mexicali many months ago, in a heartbreaking state. I had large sores all over my legs, with a front broken leg and the worst TVT sores around my neck. I lived at the Vet for a few weeks and thus began my treatment. I am very happy to report that I am free of the cancer now! It had left a hole in the roof of the mouth and I just had surgery to fix it, and it all healed. I will also need a 1 year check up with the oral surgeon to evaluate my palate roof. For my leg, I have completed my physical hydro therapy! I do currently take Carpofen and Gabapentin (estimated monthly cost is $35-40.00 for both, depending on market value) to help with my right front leg lameness. I am also on thyroid medication which averages about ~$2.00-5.00 a month. Meanwhile, I have impeccable house manners, am bathroom and leash trained too. I am learning basic cues and trying to love the crate too. I am now on Prozac and Clonidine for anxiety, and it’s been great! Monthly cost for both prescriptions is $15-20.00 depending on market value and where purchased.

I am a sweetheart with a fun personality. I am also quite adaptable! I once played with a chew ball for 2 hours straight, all by myself! And I am also a big time napper. So play-and-snooze is my daily cycle. But that ball! It’s life! On my walks, I am easy-going and prefer short ones because of my leg, and I love sniffaris! I don’t lunge or get reactive when I am by myself, but with my foster dog sibling, we hype each other up! Treats and positive reinforcement are definitely helping me learn much more. About dogs, I like female dogs more as of now. I haven’t met kids yet and cats are a no for me. But seriously, I really adore the love I am getting now and can’t wait for my furever family. I will be happiest to be a part of the action, snooze in the family room, and get a lot of treats!

I have been through a whole lot in my short life, and I would love a family who adores me and brings me out of my past ordeal. I am quite adaptable and will match my home energy. I am easy-going, mild-mannered and self-entertaining. All I ask for is patience and time to feel safe in a new space and someone to advocate for me.  A mildly active home could be fun, to go on short and more walks. I would also benefit from being around a well trained female dog to learn from, but not a requirement. My adoption fee is $350 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application

Apply to Adopt Me!