TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Otto

Age: 6 years old

Gender: Male

Breed: Terrier mix

Weight: 20 lbs

Personality: What a total goofball! Very affectionate and high energy.

Education: Good with bathroom and working on leash training

Favorite Activities: Being loved on! He loves treats and chewy toys, anything he can shred/tear/destroy. He loves being outside, running around and being a general goofball. His favorite spot is on the couch where he can look out the window and judge the neighborhood!

Looking for: An active and outdoorsy family who can have tons of fun with him!

Special needs: Tripod (rear missing) with front wrist fusion, approved for full activity but building up strength slowly. It does NOT slow him down.

Adoption Fee: $ 250

The ultimate goofball with a big heart!

Hi-ya, pals! My name is Otto, and I’m a 6-year-old neutered Terrier mix male, weighing in at 20 pounds.  I’ve been through a lot in my life, but I am grateful for this second chance at life and can’t wait to find the unconditional love that I deserve!

Not too long ago, I was hit by a car in Mexico and left by the side of the road.  I was later delivered in a box to Los Adoptables in Ensenada, where I was ultimately rescued by TAP.  Soonafter, I underwent surgery to save my back leg, but unfortunately, it didn’t work out as planned, and I am now a tripod.  You wouldn’t even notice, though, because having three legs has not held me down one bit! As far as my front legs go, I had to get my front wrist fused, so I’m building up my frontal strength slowly.  However, I’ve adapted quickly and I’m confident that I’ll be back in fighting shape real soon!

I am a high-energy boy who loves to play fetch and tug-of-war, as well as chewing on anything that I can shred and destroy.  I enjoy being outside, running around, and being a general goofball.  I’m also super affectionate and am happy to be pet and loved on all day long.  When I want more attention, I am known to greet humans by gently taking their hands in my mouth.  However, if I want pets, I can get a little chompy with their hands, too, so beware.   One of my other favorite things to do is lounge on the couch and look out the window, where I can judge the rest of the neighborhood as they pass by. 

My foster mama says that I’m also sweet, silly, and a ton of fun! I am down for any errand or activity, and I love to make my humans smile and laugh.    I’m also known to bark and “sing” when my people wake up each morning to show my excitement.  As far as my training goes, I am fully potty-trained and am working on my crate-training skills.  (I don’t love it in there, but I will go inside if you lure me in with a treat).  The leash is a work in progress, though, as I have the tendency to be leash-reactive to other doggies who are passing by.

I think I’d do best in an active home with owners who have the time and energy to keep up with me! Doggie siblings should be okay with a slow introduction, but I’m unsure about kitties or human kiddos.  Given my nature, though, I think I would do fine around older kids.  I’d prefer to be with someone who works from home so that I could get attention all day long, but I am able to stay in a crate for the entire workday with minimal separation anxiety. 

Are you ready to become best friends? My adoption fee is $250 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip.  If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/.


Apply to Adopt Me!