TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Nico the second

Age: 10 months old

Gender: Male

Breed: Pinscher mix

Weight: 9 lbs

Personality: Very loving companion, and so friendly!

Education: Almost perfect with bathroom and working on leash training.

Favorite Activities: Loves playing with other dogs, exploring outside, learning to play with toys, treats, naps and being cute.

Looking for: A loving home where he will the only pet and prince of the household. He will do best in an adults only home, and with someone who can manage and take care of his resource guarding with positive reinforcement.

Adoption Fee: $ 500

Treats are the way to his heart!

Hi, pals! My name is Nico the second, and I’m a 10-month-old Pinscher mix male, who’s had my ears and tail docked, but not by TAP, no siree.  I’ve already been neutered, and I weigh in at 9 pounds. 

As you will see, I’ve had quite the adventure over the last year.  Not too long ago, some nice humans briefly took me in after they found me alone and abandoned in the freezing cold in Paso Robles.  I soon after landed at TAP and have been living the good life with my foster family ever since! I’m still learning the ropes of living in a home since most of the sounds are new to me, but I’ve been able to adjust pretty quickly.  I have almost mastered potty training and have found that being on an outdoor schedule works best to prevent accidents around the house.  I also like taking naps in my crate but prefer sleeping under the covers at night with my humans!  And what exactly are leashes for again? Needed to say, my leash manners are still a work in progress.  

As far as my personality goes, I’m a fun-loving little guy! I love playing with doggie friends of all sizes and will greet you with the cutest little wiggle dance.  I also enjoy exploring outside, being your lap dog companion, taking naps, going on car rides, and playing dress-up with some cool-looking clothes.  One thing I’m working on right now is my resource guarding.  True to my breed, I have the tendency to randomly guard my humans, toys, and treats, so I think I’d do best with furever owners who had experience with my particular breed. 

My ideal home would be one without small kids (ages 10 years and older preferred) and without other doggies.  As I mentioned, I tend to guard food, toys, and my owners, so it’s probably best for me to be solo.  However, if that’s not in the cards, I’d prefer female siblings over males.  Other than that, I’d do best with owners who understood and had experience with my breed, so that I can become my best self!

Do we sound like a match? My adoption fee is $500 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip.  If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/.

Apply to Adopt Me!