TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Motive

Age: 1 year old

Gender: Male

Breed: Shepherd mix

Weight: 21 lbs

Personality: Playful, sweet boy!

Education: Good with bathroom training and working on leash walking.

Favorite Activities: Hanging out at the dog park, going to the beach, hiking, and of course, cuddling up in a nice blanket.

Looking for: A home with plenty of love, and fun outdoor adventures.

Adoption Fee: $ 400

Chugga Chuggin’ his way to your heart!

My name is Motive. I am a 1-year-old, neutered male, Shepherd Mix weighing around 29 lbs. I am here because The Animal Pad rescued me from a shelter in Ensenada called Ellos Son La Razon. I am potty trained/crate trained overnight and learning to be good in the crate during the day. I am getting so much better on leash walking with my easy-walk harness. I have separation anxiety during the day and learning that I am safe and will never be abandoned.

I am an absolute love bug. I’m a huge cuddler and always will hang near you just hoping for a belly rub. I love hanging out on the bed, and/or rolling around in your sheets/laundry. When it comes to other doggos, I am getting the hang of dog parks and enjoy sniffing and gentle greetings. I am working on my social skills. My foster says I am the best of both worlds. I’m funny and active, yet also happy to stay by your side and cuddle up with my favorite hoomans. I’m incredibly trusting and gentle, and definitely have a personality (you’ll hear my grumbles when you try to get me out of bed early). I’m always happy to hit the great outdoors, and an incredibly quick learner when it comes to new environments/experiences. Although, I am still a bit skittish of loud noises. I have moderate separation anxiety but working on getting better! I even can handle cats, even when they chase my tail 🙂 Given my mild temperament and gentle personality, my foster believes that I would do great with kids even without having much contact with them yet. I used to be a bit scared of men, owing to my past, but I feel like I can trust sooner now!

I would love to be a part of family that makes me a company for adventures and cuddles! My perfect furever home would be one with someone to keep me company and train me. It would be best as I have some separation anxiety. However, this is getting better each day and my fosters have found that light music really helps. My adoption fee is $400 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/