TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Lucha

Age: 2 years old

Gender: Female

Breed: Shepherd mix

Weight: 40 lbs

Personality: Extremely affectionate and loving!

Education: Good with bathroom and leash training

Favorite Activities: Playing with toys, wrestling, being a total goofball!

Looking for: A loving family where she will have companionship. She'd do well with a good-mannered dog too.

Special needs: Chronic Kidney Disease that will need vet monitoring and management for life. On a special prescription food, Purina Pro Plan Veterinary Diets NF Kidney, prices vary based on size of bag. Has signs of heart disease that must be monitored. She will need another echocardiogram in late July to make definitive diagnosis. She is currently on Pimobendan, ~$130.00 for 3 month supply. Prices may vary due to market value and pharmacy.

Adoption Fee: $ 450

Lucha, the lover!

Hi, friends! My name is Lucha, and I’m a 2-year-old spayed Shepherd Mix female.  I weigh about 40 pounds, and I’m completely house-trained, potty-trained, and leash-trained.

I come from the streets of Tijuana, where I was found in extremely poor condition.  Thankfully, though, I was picked up by a Good Samaritan, and I’ve been in TAP’s loving care ever since.  As far as my health goes, I have chronic kidney disease, so I will require regular vet monitoring and management for the rest of my life.  To help ensure I feel my best, I’m on a special prescription food called Purina Pro Plan Veterinary Diets NF Kidney.  I am also showing signs of heart disease that will need to be monitored.  However, this may be a temporary issue due to the incorrect grain-free diet I was previously on, so I will need another echocardiogram in late July in order to make a definitive diagnosis.  Until then, I’m taking Pimobendan, which is about $130 for a three-month supply.

But, enough about my health stuff – that certainly doesn’t get me down one bit! I really am one of the sweetest and most loving dogs you’ll ever meet.  In fact, my foster mama tells me that I’m the best dog she’s ever fostered.  I always want to be around my people, and I love being pet and giving kisses – especially to new people who I’ve just met! I also love playing with my toys, and I live for a game of fetch.  Don’t count on me bringing the ball back, though!  Generally, I’m a pretty low-key girl who sleeps the majority of the day.  But, when I get those bursts of energy, I’m just a goofy ball of joy who can entertain myself with my toys for hours. 

My ideal furever home would be with anyone who wants to be loved unconditionally.  Because I enjoy people so much, I’d love to have someone around the house most of the day, but if not, I would do just fine on my own.  Doggie siblings are A-OK with me, though I would just need time to warm up to one who is extra-hyper or much bigger than me.  I love kids, too, and I think I’d do the best around older children who can respect my boundaries.   

Are you looking for love? If so, I’m your match! My adoption fee is $450  and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip.  If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/

Apply to Adopt Me!