TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Lorenzo

Age: 4 years old

Gender: Male

Breed: Shepherd mix

Weight: 55 lbs

Personality: A lover of people, and smaller, mellow dogs. Major lovebug with family.

Education: Good with bathroom and working on leash training. Needs to work on leash reactivity with other dogs.

Favorite Activities: Sleeping, being pet, chewing bones , medication time with chicken snacks , eating , walking 30min 2x a day, sunbathing, being around humans.

Looking for: A loving family who can prioritize training him for leash reactivity and love him with all their heart. He will do well with a mellow, calm dog after a slow introduction.

Special needs: Seizure Disorder Phenobarbital ~$12.00 for a month's supply, Levetiracetam ~$19.00 for a month's supply, Potassium Bromide solution compounded ~$33.00. No oral flea or tick medication, use of topical preventative only

Adoption Fee: $ 400

You’ll want a pizza Lorenzo!

Caio! My name is Lorenzo. Like a true Italian charmer, I’m a lovable, snuggly boy. I’m a 4-year-old, 55-pound, neutered Shepherd mix. I’m a healthy fella now, but my life used to be pretty ruff. When I was rescued from Mexicali (Shhh, don’t blow my Italian cover) I had a bad case of TVT on my handsome face. After undergoing treatment, I’m now a survivor! I do have Seizure Disorder Phenobarbital ~$12.00 for a month’s supply, Levetiracetam ~$19.00 for a month’s supply, Potassium Bromide solution compounded ~$33.00 depending on where purchased and market value. No oral flea or tick medication, use of topical preventative only. I developed idiopathic epilepsy between 2-3 years old and have been able to stabilize seizures to 1x a month with my current medication routine. Life with my foster has been sweeter than gelato on a hot summer day, but I can’t wait to find a furever home to cook up some fun!

I’m a lover boy who adores his people. Whenever my foster dad gets home, I always jump up for a gentle hug. I do this when meeting new friends, too! I get along with kids and think that I’d be an amazing family man. I haven’t met any cats yet, so I’m not sure what I think about them. I get along great with my little furry foster brother and we like to run around the yard and play! I prefer smaller, mellow dogs and need a proper introduction. I am very calm, mellow and generally sleepy(medication side effects) but overall incredibly sweet!

My biggest struggle is my leash reactivity. When I’m on a leash, I get very defensive and react to other dogs. For this reason, it’s been hard to make pals. I’ve met a few smaller, mellow dogs and with a slow introduction, we’ve gotten along. I think I have the ability to make doggy pals one day but will need a hooman who can commit to my training.

Even though I’m still learning how to make friends with other pooches, I’m a pro with the people. I go to work with my foster dad and I’m the best pawsonal assistant (although I’m often found sleeping on the job). When I’m off the clock, I like chewing on my bones, napping in the sun, and most of all– cuddling with my foster family. I’m the most gentle boy who loves to be loved!

I’m bathroom and house trained, check and check! I also do well in the crate and have minimal separation anxiety. I’m currently working on commands such as sit, lay down, and place (for bed). As I mentioned before, I still need to work on my leash training, specifically with reactivity to other dogs. Otherwise, I’m a happy, mellow mutt.

My ideal furever casa on the Amalfi Coast… I mean, in a loving home with you! I think I’d do well with another smaller, mellow dog and could be a great family pooch. So what do you say? Once we meet, it will be im-pasta-ble to resist my sweet, loving charm! I would make the most adorable companion for someone with a big heart ready to take me and all my special needs in. My adoption fee is $400 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application


Apply to Adopt Me!