TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Kinder

Age: 1 year old

Gender: Male

Breed: Whippet-Dachshund mix

Weight: 17 lbs

Personality: Sweet and playful!

Education: Good with bathroom and leash training

Favorite Activities: Cuddling in a lap, napping on the couch, chewing squeaky toys, playing with his foster brother the cat

Looking for: A loving and patient home as he learns the best doggie manners. He would love to be with a playful kitty and can learn to be with other dogs too!

Adoption Fee: $ 400

The chocolatey delight!

Hello there, hooman! My name is Kinder. I am a 1-year-old, neutered male, Whippet-Dachshund mix weighing around 17 lbs. I am here because The Animal Pad rescued me from a shelter in Ensenada called Los Adoptables. I am house/crate and leash trained! As of right now I am 90% potty-trained (almost there!).

I’ve had quite a journey to get here… even though I am so sweet and playful inside with hoomans, I can get nervous outside when a stranger walks by on the sidewalk and especially when other doggos are passing by. This is most likely just due to fear and lack of trust, so I will need a family that is patient committed to building my trust back up with other doggos. When my foster introduced me to friends’ dogs inside their house, I was much more relaxed and warmed up to them eventually. So I don’t think I need to be an only doggo in a family. I have a habit of clicking my teeth like I’m going to bite and sometimes gives little soft nips to the cat and other doggos. When I’m at home with hoomans I trust, I am so cuddly and relaxed. When it comes to doggos I need a slow introduction. I bark at other doggos when on walkies but my foster has successfully introduced me to 2 doggos in quiet, indoors environments. I love cats, I play a lot with my foster hoomans cat (a less playful cat might not like it). I have not had any experience with little hoomans yet so I’m not sure how I would be. I love cuddling in a lap, napping on the couch, chewing squeaky toys, playing with my foster brother the cat. I hope you choose me to be in your family! I really am sweet and cuddly – I love my people! I can walk for miles or nap on the couch all day. I have a little wonky right front paw but it doesn’t slow me down one bit!

My perfect furever home would be one with a patient hooman/family. With a slow introduction I could fit in a home with cats and doggos. I think I would fit in a mellow or a playful family. My adoption fee is $400 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/