TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Karat

Age: 4 years old

Gender: Female

Breed: Shiba Inu mix

Weight: 22 lbs

Personality: She is shy and needs help building confidence. Very sweet with her family!

Education: Working on bathroom and leash training. Crate trained. Will need decompression time.

Favorite Activities: Cuddling, eating, getting treats, sunbathing, patrolling the house with her dog sisters.

Looking for: A calm and mellow home where she can relax and have fun in! She will like to be an only dog, but with a slow intro, can be with other calm dogs. She will like to be a mellow neighborhood and with calm older kids or teens.

Adoption Fee: $ 350

24K magic in the air!

Hi guys! My name is Karat and I am that golden gal so thankful to have been rescued by TAP! I am part of the shopping cart hoarding crew and I am still decompressing, but I am doing so well now! I am a 4 years old, female spayed Shiba Inu mix, weighing about 22 lbs. I have started working on my bathroom and leash training and I am progressing well day by day. I am already good in the crate.

Even the purest gold has to go through heat to shine at its best, and so do I. Since I come from a scary situation, I do have some emotional needs for decompression time and patience. I am shy initially but I have been bonding with my family now. I do need slow introductions with other dogs, and it took me a week to gel up with my foster sisters and now I love them! I dont have experience with cats and kids. Now I have bloomed to be a huge cuddle bug. I love being a homebody in an easy-going, calm environment. I am still learning to like walks more and more every day and get the hang of how the leash works. I get started by loud cars, strange noises, but desensitization is helping.  I am learning what an amazing home it is when warm and safe. When I am really excited I twirl like a ballerina! My mama loves that! My goofy personality and quirks shine and make her laugh and my warm brown eyes make everyone fall in love with me!

I would make anyone happy with my heart of pure gold! I would do great in a medium energy kind of home, with mellow environment. I am not a big exerciser, but agile and bouncy when I play. I would appreciate patience to allow decompression time and for me to trust and form a bond. Once I do, boy those cuddles are going to be so good and worth it! I think I will do great as an only dog but wont mind company as long as we have a slow and gentle introduction. I am hoping to be in a calm neighborhood so I can have my leisurely walks and will prefer respectful and calm older kids or teens around me. If I can be your sweet and shiny cuddle buddy, we better meet up. My adoption fee is $350 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/