TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Junior

Age: 1 year old

Gender: Male

Breed: Australian Shepherd mix

Weight: 32 lbs

Personality: Very sweet and lovable! Shy initially, but opens up to be amazing!

Education: Progressing rapidly on bathroom and leash training. Positive reinforcement only!

Favorite Activities: Loves learning new tricks, walking around to learn leash manners, eating Kongs and bullysticks, stealing stuffed toys!

Looking for: A loving and patient family as he undergoes more training. He will be great with another dog and kiddos too.

Adoption Fee: $ 500

The sweetest boy!

Hey guys! I am Junior, also lovingly called Champ by my foster mama, and I am a 1 year old, male Aussie mix and growing boy at about 32 lbs right now. I do say growing because I was super skinny when I was rescued and this new nutritious food is real good! I was rescued from the euth list with a badly broken leg, but so much better now! I am short of an eye and a leg, but I’m sure nobody can notice it. Mama calls me Champ for a reason! I am mostly bathroom trained and working on my leash training with a harness(to prevent slipping away from my collar). I am learning that chewing everything is no good, and redirection with Kongs and Bullysticks help. I am extremely smart, already have a few tricks up my furry sleeve, and I must continue training with positive reinforcement only. Punishment is bad because of my fears.

I was very shy when I came to my foster home, but love and a shower of treats has helped me come out of my shell. I get some anxiety at night, which reduces when I am close to my family and sleep closer to their bed. Toys, Kongs and chewies are love! I also quite enjoy training times because I am eager to please, and of course, treats! I do have just one eye, so hand gestures and sounds go together till I pick ’em up. Mama will fill you in. I have also learned many tricks by copying my doggie foster sibling! She says I am a truly amazing dog and so sweet with the kiddos. I do like my foster dog sibling too and she feels certain that I would like other dogs as well. I should be around slightly older kids than toddlers, just so that I dont fall on them!

I would thrive in a home where I am fully adored and loved and made to forget my sad past. Some decompression time, positive reinforcement and lots of treats will be great. A single story home would be better as I learn to navigate stairs and get stronger. Patience will be key and a desire to teach, because, boy I am smart and would do so great on IG showing my tricks off! Mental stimulation works wonders for me. A yard will bring me much joy. Lastly, my foster mama would love to stay in touch because she truly loves me! My adoption fee is $500 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application

 

Apply to Adopt Me!