TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Huck

Age: 5 years old

Gender: Male

Breed: Shepherd mix

Weight: 39 lbs

Personality: Very friendly and playful, but mostly on calmer side.

Education: Bathroom and house trained, and good with leash training

Favorite Activities: Playing, following his people around, sunbathing, walking.

Looking for: A sweet family where he will have lots of love, and will love to be around dogs too, although he can be by himself.

Special needs: Distemper survivor, cleared by the vet. Teethless, so eats wet food.

Adoption Fee: $ 250

He’ll be your Huckleberry!

Howdy! My name is Huck, and I’m a 5-year-old Shepherd mix male, weighing in at 39 pounds.  I’ve come all the way from Tijuana looking for my furever family.  I’ve been through a lot in my life, but you would never know it, since I’m so full of love and positive energy. 

First off, I’m a proud Distemper survivor.  I also don’t have any teeth, so I have to have soft foods and treats.  I’m mostly potty-trained (though I do have accidents every now and then), and I’m able to stay in my crate when my foster parents are gone with no issues.  I’ve already been neutered. 

I’m a super sweet boy who loves humans and other doggie friends.  I’m a mellow kind of guy, but I can be playful, too.  My favorite activities include taking walks around the neighborhood, being outside, and playing until I can’t play anymore.  Give me a squeaky toy, though, and I’ll be yours forever!  Although I’m dog-friendly, I’m no pushover, and I will stand up for myself if another fuzzy guy gets too aggressive for me.  I love kiddos, too, but I get confused when they make a lot of noise.  When this happens, I’ll follow them around and bark.  I’m easy to redirect when this occurs, though.    

My ideal home would probably be one with other doggie siblings.  However, I think I’d be just fine on my own, too.  I’m good around kids, but I might do better with non-toddlers.  Come to think of it, though, I’m highly trainable and can adapt easily, so I think I could be trained to stay calm around them.  As far as adult humans go, I think I’d do best with a mellow family who is home most of the time.  I can be up for any adventure, too, so don’t forget to let me tag along!

Do we sound like a match? My adoption fee is $250 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip.  If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/.