TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Hoppy

Age: 2 years old

Gender: Female

Breed: Terrier mix

Weight: 15 lbs

Personality: Timid but wants to love! Needs encouragement to shake her nervousness off. Bonds quicker with women.

Education: Good with bathroom and leash training. Learning to be confident with positive reinforcement and desensitization.

Favorite Activities: Loves to snuggle and be close to her people, getting chicken treats.

Looking for: A calm family that will shower her with love and encouragement to become more confident. She will need training to overcome her anxiety triggers. Another doggie sibling will be helpful for her.

Special needs: A tripod beauty!

Adoption Fee: $ 350

Because I am hoppy!

Hey fellas! My name is Hoppy and I am a 2 years old, female Jack Russell Terrier mix with a bunch of cute fuzz all over me to snuggle into! I am about 15 lb of pure delight. I was rescued by TAP and the San Diego Humane Society  and have been receiving some much needed TLC at my foster home. I am a lil tripod, missing my front left leg and these three legs carry me everywhere. Long walks may not be for me, but cozy cuddles, oh 100%! I am fully bathroom trained with 4 bathroom breaks and do great on a retractable leash that wont tangle up on me. I am spayed and ready to go home!

I am a very gentle and affectionate lady to the people I know. Strangers, specially men, do need to give me some time to warm up. I have had a tough past in my short life and I am working on forgetting the bad memories. Sometimes the triggers get to me, making me anxious(but never aggressive) and I need help to recover. I can be a nervous but sweet gal, and need to work on desensitization with positive reinforcement. I have already come out of my shell so much and I am starting to enjoy some time outdoors. I have met some dogs on my walks and we have been polite and sniffy around each other. I think I will like older, respectful kids, since I can get spooked by noises and quick movements. I dont know what cats will be like. I love my foster mama and we bonded quickly over laps and snuggles. I must say that I am quite smart, I understand boundaries. I do sleep on my own bed near my family and I know to stay put through the night, but if allowed, I would definitely like to sleep cuddled up. I do have certain diva habits, for eg, having water only through moist food, not excited by PB, and peeking over my family’s dinner plate!

I am looking for a calm, mellow family that showers me with encouragement and love, so that I can grow into a confident lady. Another mellow dog like me, could be a mentor. I could learn the magic of toys and playing from the doggie sibling! Since I am a tripod, having a backyard would give me more mobility and a chance to be active. If you think we can clap along for life together, come and meet me! My adoption fee is $350 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/