TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Gene

Age: 2 years old

Gender: Male

Breed: Terrier mix

Weight: 10 lbs

Personality: Sweet, loyal and so playful! Makes friends with all the dogs that he meets.

Education: Working on bathroom and leash training. Progressed with separation anxiety and will need to continue training.

Favorite Activities: Loves playing with toys (balls and soft toys), going on long walks and sniffing everything, getting love and pets.

Looking for: A loving home with lots of cuddles and playtime. He will prefer company while he improves with separation anxiety.

Special needs: Recently started Prozac (~$10.00 a month, depending on market value and where purchased) to help manage separation anxiety.

Adoption Fee: $ 300

He’ll add light, laughter, and love!

Hi, friends! My name is Gene, and I’m a 2-year-old Terrier Mix neutered male, weighing in at 10 pounds.  I’ve come all the way from La Mesa, where I was hit by a car.  Thankfully, TAP rescued me just in time and has helped me repair my perforated intestines and broken femur.  Now, I’m as good as new and am mastering my potty-training while I wait for my furever home!

My foster mama says that I’m the definition of a pup with a lot of love to give!  All I want to do is show and give someone an endless amount of love, whether that be through playtime or snuggles.  I’m the epitome of a loyal dog, and I promise you that I will bond with you for life and never leave your side!

I’m a high-energy kind of guy, and my favorite activities include playing with soft toys and balls, going on long walk to sniff everything, and getting love and pets. While I love my humans, I do tend to get very anxious with new people and will sometimes growl out of fear for myself. However, once I’m familiar with someone, I’m energetic and friendly, and will give lots of kisses. I have started Prozac (~$10.00 a month, depending on market value and when purchased) to help manage my anxiety which has helped me settle when you leave. Having my foster dog’s sibling around also helps me feel better.

I am dog-friendly and will probably do best in a home with another doggie sibling to help with my anxiety. I have not spent much time around kiddos but I think I would do fine.

I would fit in an amazing home full of love and cuddle, and who patiently help me be the best doggo ever! So, do we sound like a match? If so, my adoption fee is $300 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip.  If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/.

Apply to Adopt Me!