TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Gelt

Age: 1.5 years old

Gender: Male

Breed: Golden/Aussie mix

Weight: 60 lbs

Personality: Friendly and sweet!

Education: Good with bathroom, crate and leash training

Favorite Activities: Loves playing fetch, tug, with big dogs and his people, likes hiking and outdoor activities, chasing squirrels!

Looking for: A home with fun playtime and continued training to be his best self! He will love to go on runs, hikes, long walks and dog park time.

Adoption Fee: $ 400

The golden boy to steal your heart!

What’s up hooman! My name is Gelt. I am a 1-and-a-half-year-old, neutered male, Golden/Aussie Mix weighing around 63 lbs. I am here because The Animal Pad rescued me from Tijuana. I am house/bathroom/leash trained! I am also crate trained, but I don’t need it – I do great on my own when I go out and I’ve never had an accident inside.

*clears throat* Now a little bit about me. I am very friendly with all kinds of hoomans and I’m happy to get pets from everyone we pass in the street. I do have some anxiety and I’ll whine when my foster leaves, but I calm down and I’m great once they’re out of sight. I get anxious sometimes on walkies (jumps up, mouthing, bites my leash), but I have been learning to look to my hooman for reassurance instead and I’m making huge progress! Now I’ll usually stop or circle back to my hooman for petting and calming words when I’m uneasy. My foster says I am just the best doggo! I love to be around hoomans and I will follow them from room to room with my chew toys so that I can eat with my hooman. I’m so well-behaved and learned right away what was okay and not okay. For example, I like tearing up cardboard boxes, but my foster keeps a stack on hand in the living room for me and I will never touch them until they give them to me. I love to go with them when they leave the house and I will wait patiently for them in the car while they run into a store, but I also does great at home alone. I always get compliments from strangers on my friendly demeanor and beautiful eyes (one blue, one brown). I’m already a great hiking buddy, and with some more training I would make a great running partner as well. I love playing fetch and tug-of-war with my toys; going on runs, long walkies, and hikes; getting pets, belly rubs, and brushings; chasing squirrels; tussling with other big doggos. I am doggo-friendly. I am rather unphased by small doggos; a little nervous around large doggos, but I have been doing great on polite greetings and I love to play when I find another doggo who enjoys roughhousing. I am also little hooman friendly. But I can get a little wild when I’m excited, so I would do best with little hoomans who are a little older and/or experienced with doggos.

My perfect furever home would be one that can give me lots of exercise. A big yard, another big energetic doggo, and/or active little hoomans would help me burn off energy. But I would be fine without those if I can get plenty of runs, walkies, and play time with my furever family. My adoption fee is $400 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/