TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Gary

Age: 1.5 years old

Gender: Male

Breed: Shepherd mix

Weight: 26 lbs

Personality: Very playful! Will need help to combat reactivity and creating more positive associations with triggers.

Education: Crate trained, working on bathroom manners and learning to not pull on his leash. A positive reinforcement trainer will be helpful for reactivity.

Favorite Activities: Crushing ice-cubes, sleeping and resting on comfy beds, belly rubs, playing with toys, chasing balls and being chased, chewing toys, smelling everything.

Looking for: A loving home with lots of patience and a big heart for lil Gary! He would prefer a quiet home with a yard, where he can get trained in peace without distractions. Positive reinforcement will be very helpful for him! A calm and confident dog sibling may help him learn quicker!

Adoption Fee: $ 350

Here’s Mr. Garr-bear!

Why hello there, hooman! My name is Gary. I am a 1-year-and-a-half-old, neutered male, Terrier-Shepherd Mix weighing around 26 lbs. I am here because The Animal Pad rescued me from Ensenada. I am house/crate trained! I am mostly bathroom trained except for occasional accidents. And for leash training I need more training on that. I have seasonal allergies, so I’m taking supplements to help with my sneezing and itchiness.

I am the sweetest dog at home – definitely a cuddle bug and I love my toys and chewing on them! I have medium energy and sleep by myself when my foster works at home. I like to be chased at home when I have a toy in my mouth, and I will roll on my back for belly rubs while playing. I will sit on my foster’s lap when we watch tv and serve as a nice body warmer. I am still being trained not to bark at doggos when I see them out of the windows, but I’m usually really quite and mellow. I can be left in the crate or at home roaming freely when my hooman/s go out with no problems at all. I was able to be by myself for 5-6 hours (that’s the longest they have left me alone). I am still learning not to pull on my leash and my special no-pull collar is a must when walking. I get excited when seeing smaller doggos (by whining), but nervous when seeing bigger dogs across the street. When I get nervous, I pull on my leash and bark. I am highly alert when walking at night and that heightens my reactivity to moving objectives like hoomans and animals. I need gradual introductions to doggos bigger than me. I’m playful with doggos about my size or smaller. However, I would do better in a home that doesn’t have another doggo. I do not get along with cats (they are so weird!). I am not sure how I would do with little hoomans as I have no encounters with them yet… Now onto things I love! Crushing ice-cubes, sleeping and resting on comfy beds, belly rubs, playing with toys, chasing balls and being chased when there’s a toy in my mouth, chewing toys, smelling everything.

My perfect furever home would be one with lots of patience as I have been struggling a bit more recently with heightened noise reactivity. I am learning to ignore it with treats but definitely need more conditioning. A home with a yard would be best as I still need training for my reactivity, however, a calm and confident dog could actually help me learn. But I am super smart and learn new things rather quickly. Two to three long walks (30+ mins) and a bit of play time at home would suffice. I am fine being alone for an extended period of time (up to 5-6 hours, just sleeping through it) but I also like to be around hoomans. A furever home where the hooman(s) will invest time and a trainer to create more positive associations with bigger dogs would definitely help. My adoption fee is $350 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/

Apply to Adopt Me!