TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Fiyero

Age: 6 years old

Gender: Male

Breed: Shepherd mix

Weight: 77 lbs

Personality: Goofy, klutzy, sweet personality!

Education: Good with bathroom and leash training. Will need a yard so that he can go often, and prefers short walks due to spine issues.

Favorite Activities: Chasing balls, going for short walks, exploring new areas, laying with (or on) his person/people, catching kibble in the air, finding treats in sniff mats, and just being the biggest goofball out there!

Looking for: A loving home where he will be a happy companion. Single-story home with a decent sized yard, and calm dogs only with proper introductions. He has so much love to give someone or people who will be put in the work to get to know him, be patient with him, give him lots of outdoor time, help him when his back legs don't necessarily feel like working their best some days and help him get more exposure to everyday scenarios that take place in a home.

Special needs: Mobility issues. Currently taking Carprofen and Gabapentin for pain management. Carprofen monthly cost is ~$28.00 and Gabapentin monthly cost is ~$30.00 depending on where purchased and market value.

Adoption Fee: $ 250

Help Fiyero find his own fairytale!

Hi, there! My name is Fiyero. You might recognize my name from Wicked, but I promise anything but! I’m a gentle giant at 6 years old and 77 pounds. My story has had quite a few plot twists. I was initially dropped at the LA shelter in 2021 before I was brought to TAP. Then, we discovered that I needed spinal surgery, which was a lengthy recovery process. I was left with some mobility issues in my hind legs and take Carprofen (~$28 per month) and Gabapentin (~$30 per month) for pain management. Despite it all, I’m a goofy lovebug who still enjoys short walks, playtime, and of course– cuddles! My life story hasn’t been all sunshine and roses but I’m ready to turn the page with you!

I’m a friendly boy but I’m not the type to immediately fall head over heels… I mean, paws. I take a little time to build trust, but when I do, you have my lifelong loyalty! I’m a total goofball with a heart of gold once you get the chance to know me. I do best with other calm dogs and prefer slow introductions. I haven’t met any cats, but don’t think we’d be besties. I can be a bit of a klutz and don’t always know my size, so I think I’d prefer older kids/teens.

Despite my mobility issues, I still have playful energy and love chasing balls, going on short walks, and exploring new areas. I also enjoy catching kibble in the air, my treat mat, and belly rubs! You can often find me snoozing at your feet or cuddling up (or on) you for some love! With my silly pawsonality, I’m bound to make you smile!

I’m a very good boy who knows not to have accidents in the house. However, due to my surgery, I can’t always hold it for hours on end and access to a yard is preferable. I do well on the leash and love my short walks. I don’t have any separation anxiety when left alone, but I make the best companion!

How about we take this tragedy and turn it into a fairytale complete with a happily ever after? I would do well with a solo person, couple, or family with older kids. A single-story house with a yard would be my version of a castle! I might not be Prince Charming right off the bat, but who wants a prince when you can have the loving, loyal goofball? Let’s start our next chapter together!

My adoption fee is $250 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/

Apply to Adopt Me!