TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Clarence

Age: 4 years old

Gender: Male

Breed: Chihuahua mix

Weight: 16 lbs

Personality: Major lovebug! doesn't let his situation prevent all his adorableness!

Education: Bathroom trained, uses pee pads to prevent accidents. Doesn't go on many walks because of his leg situation. He is fine alone, but doesn't like or need crates.

Favorite Activities: Cuddling, snuggling, lap time, eating

Looking for: A loving home with a big heart and some space for this sweet guy. He will need a companion to take care of him in a wfh sort of situation. He needs an adults only home, and perhaps as an only pet or with a slow intro.

Special needs: X-rays show old pelvic fracture, remodeling of left femoral head and neck with bone loss. Spinal nerve damage / cauda equina syndrome may have occurred due to degree of injury. Clarence will have permanent hind end neurologic deficits and difficulty posturing to defecate due to degree of previous trauma, so appropriate accommodations should be instituted: potty pads to prevent accidents, other accommodations as needed such as caution around curbs and stairs, do not allow to jump on/off furniture etc. Doesn’t have complete bowel control. On trial of Carprofen (~$12 for month supply, price will vary depending on market value and where purchased) for pain management and Dasuquin chews (~$40 for 3 month supply)

Adoption Fee: $ 350

A loyal and loving companion!

Hi, fuzzy pals! My name is Clarence, and I’m a 4-year-old, 16-pound neutered Chihuahua mix male, looking for a loving family to take me home. 

My foster mama says that I’m a total cuddle bug! I love my humans more than anything in this world, and all I want to do is sit on the couch all day curled up next to them.   I also enjoy mealtimes and getting some extra snuggles in.   

As far as my training goes, I must first let you know a little something about my current condition.  I came to TAP with a pelvic fracture that had gone untreated and never properly healed.  X-ray’s showed this fracture, as well as some remodeling to my left femoral head and neck with bone loss.  The degree of the trauma I sustained is not known, but it’s believed that this injury could have also resulted in spinal nerve damage and cauda equina syndrome.  To this end, I will likely have permanent hind end neurologic deficits and difficulty getting to a position to best relieve myself.  I’m currently on a trial of Carprofen (~$12 for a month’s supply; price will vary depending on market value and where purchased) and Dasuquin chews (~$40 for a three-month supply) for pain management.

Though I am fully potty-trained (and love to use the doggy door to let myself outside to do my business), I’m not always able to control my bowel movements.  Therefore, I have to rely on potty pads sometimes to prevent accidents.  I do well on a leash and am a quick learner, but I’m not taken on walks too much because of my back legs.  I’m not an anxious kind of guy and do just fine when left behind.  Crates, however, cause me some anxiety, but I’m able to calm myself down pretty quickly once inside.  Other than that, I like to sleep in a dog bed downstairs at night with absolutely no issues. 

I think I’d do best in a home where someone is there most of the day (a WFH situation would be ideal). After all, I thrive on human contact and attention! I’d do great as the only pet, but I’m also able to get along with other doggies – on a case-by-case basis.  I’ve been known to be selective in my treatment towards others, so I would recommend a slow introduction if there are other doggie siblings in the home.  No little kids, though, as I have been known to nip. 

Are you ready for a sweet and loyal companion? Pick me! My adoption fee is $350 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip.  If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/.  

Apply to Adopt Me!