TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Carbonara

Age: 11 months old

Gender: Female

Breed: Shiba Inu-Shepherd mix

Weight: 40 lbs

Personality: Playful, sweet girl!

Education: Good with bathroom and leash training

Favorite Activities: Getting zoomies, playing with her fav doggie sis and wrestling each other out!

Looking for: A family who will love her and dedicate time to train her patiently and respectfully. She has faced some previous trauma born out of impatience and frustration and she deserves only the best! She'd love to be with doggie or kiddo siblings!

Adoption Fee: $ 400

The saucy doglet!

Hewo! My name is Carbonara. I am an 11-month-old, spayed female, Shiba Inu/Shepherd mix weighing around 40 lbs. I am here because The Animal Pad rescued me in Tijuana. I am house and leash trained! I have a limp in my front right leg from an old injury. The vet says I’ve developed arthritis in my shoulder that will probably need to be monitored/managed my whole life. My future furever family will need to be in tune with my mobility and pain levels and I’ll probably be on pain meds intermittently or indefinitely. BUT! That doesn’t slow me down at all though, and one pill a day has totally managed my pain levels.

Once I know you, I am as sweet as can be! I’m playful, friendly, and the perfect blend of cuddly and energetic! Currently, I live with two big doggos and play like a maniac with the more active one. I am like their little sister who gets away with things and whines (howls) when they are getting attention and I’m not. I can be a little nervous with hoomans I don’t know entering the home and will bark protectively. My foster says to advise meeting outside the home and slow approach, and bribing with treats(wink wink). I’m very active and would be a great friend for someone who likes walkies and hikes, and a family whose doggo or little hoomans need a friend. My former owner took me to dog parks often and said I did great, but sometimes was a bully to smaller dogs. I usually sleep with my other foster sibling dog in the spare bedroom at night, but sometimes they put me by myself or leave me home to walk the other doggos, and I seem fine but I look out the window to watch for them. I have some leash aversion due to rough handling in my former home, and came to my current fosters with lacerations on my neck from a collar 🙁 I run away when they go to put a leash on me because of my traumatic experience… I do okay on leash but I’m still learning not to pull. I walk nicely with a Gentle Leader but still not a fan. When it comes to other doggos, I am great with dogs my size and bigger. Things I like now! I like playing with my foster siblings (especially Rain), tug, chase, bitey-face. Stealing toys from the other doggos. At night my fosters like to clip me on a retractable leash and let me get my zoomies out in the yard. I am so excited for the exercise! Something you should know…I have the most soulful dark eyes and will kiss your face for half an hour if you let me (fur real). I’m great company and calm hanging out during the work day, then ready to cut loose once the family is free to play! I am smart and I learn quickly. I also have a super stealth wunderbite–it’s small but it’s there!!

My perfect furever home would be one with another doggo and/or little hoomans. Though I haven’t displayed problematic behavior issues in my foster’s home, they would encourage my new family to do obedience training to build our relationship (and not try to do it on their own, get frustrated, and hurt me like my last owner 🙁 ). It’s a total pipe dream but if someone is looking for two doggos, Rain and I are obsessed with each other…My adoption fee is $400 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/

Apply to Adopt Me!