TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Caddie

Age: 2 years old

Gender: Female

Breed: Shepherd mix

Weight: 63 lbs

Personality: Shy but waiting to bloom. Will need help with separation anxiety.

Education: Good with bathroom and leash training

Favorite Activities: Loves to play, fetch, chase, chew toys, sunbathing, cuddling on the pillows.

Looking for: A loving family who will help her decompress and help trust. She will need help with separation anxiety but her love will make it worth it.

Adoption Fee: $ 350

Ready for her furever!

Why hello there, hooman! My name is Caddie. I am a 2 years old, spayed female, Shepherd Mix weighing around 63 lbs. I am here because The Animal Pad rescued me a shelter in Ensenada called Ellos Son La Razon. Before I was taken to this shelter, I was found under an abandoned trailer… this may be why I have separation anxiety. I am house/bathroom/leash trained!

My foster says I have grown so much. When she first got me, I was scared of everything and wouldn’t engage with anything. I have clearly experienced trauma and it has left emotional (and a few physical) scars. It took me over a month to pick up a toy, even with a foster doggo who played all day. Very, very slowly I have gained confidence and now I want to play all day with her. I have a lot of energy, but also can relax and chill. I am great about sitting next to her while she works and as soon as I have a break I am ready for a hike, a game of fetch or chase, or a belly rub. I am good in the car. I like to sleep in a bed with a hooman, but I will sleep on a dog bed next to the hooman’s bed, if necessary. I follow her everywhere, and I love to have me play ball with her. I love it when she works in the yard so I can sunbathe while keeping an eye on her. I have learned the commands: sit, stay, and down. I learn rules quickly (for example, I don’t chew shoes or socks even though I love to chew my toys). I am super sweet and loving with my hooman. HOWEVER, I have severe separation anxiety and I will need a family who is willing to work with me (ideally with a behavioral trainer). I pawmise it will be worth it! I am super sensitive and will NOT do well in a family where they scold me. Generally, I am slow to warm up to most hoomans and will only let certain hoomans pet me. As long as I am able to go out regularly, I never have an accident in the house unless I am frightened. When my foster tries to leave me home alone I never stop crying and howling (my past comes back to me). I might benefit from a doggo buddy if it were the right match. I do better when I get plenty of exercise. With some training I might be a good running partner. I can play fetch forever 🙂 Now for little hoomans, I have limited experience, but good with neighbor kids who don’t run at me and scare me. I would be good with little hoomans who know to take it slow and gentle. I love pinecones; belly rubs; plush toys; long walks; tennis balls; fetch; chase; sunbathing, running; snacks; sleeping in a big bed next to people; hikes; car rides; cuddling on the couch; soft pillows. I have overcome so much, and I continue to improve every day. I have a very fun side with lots of energy. I deserve a family that will take it slow with me, continue my training to build my confidence, and show lots of patience and love.

My perfect furever home would be a family that is patient to work with my separation anxiety. Lots of love and kisses! I need someone who will still be working from home after the pandemic. I am very afraid of abandonment and I really struggle to be alone, even for a few minutes. No cats. Doggos and little hoomans would be fine as long as they are gentle. A yard big enough for running and vigorous games of fetch. Needs regular exercise, but also sleeps well. My adoption fee is $350 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/

Apply to Adopt Me!