TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Bandit

Age: 4 years old

Gender: Male

Breed: Shepherd mix

Weight: 79 lbs

Personality: A major cuddle bug who loves to play!

Education: Good with bathroom and working on leash training, focusing on reactivity.

Favorite Activities: Playing fetch, going on walks/hikes, just cuddling on the couch deeply with his person!

Looking for: A family who sees his inner beauty and is willing to work on his reactivity training. He would do well with another large dog who can be his guide!

Special needs: Needs experienced adopter who will continue working on his reactivity training

Adoption Fee: $ 350

On his way to steal yo heart!

Why hello there, hooman! My name is Bandit. I am a 4-year-old, neutered male, German Shepherd Mix weighing around 79 lbs. I am here because The Animal Pad rescued me. I was originally found as a dumpster doggo as a puppy and was taken in by my first owner. On my first trip to puppy day care at 6 months old, I was attacked by another doggo and that somewhat traumatized me. I was never socialized with other doggos since then, so I’m still learning how to act around other doggos. I recently spent 3 weeks in a board and train to help ease my anxiety around other doggos and have come to learn that not all doggos are out to get me. I am house broken, bathroom trained, still working on leash reactivity to other doggos while out on walkies, but I’m normally well behaved on walkies.

Let’s share a little bit about me! At home I am the perfect couch potato and cuddler. I am fantastic with my obedience training, and I know several tricks including sit, lay down, wait, spin, roll over, play dead, shake, high five, and back up. I am very mellow and do not have any separation anxiety issues. I love hanging out in my kennel, as it’s my safe space and I’ll take my meals and water in the kennel as well. Because I was never properly socialized as a puppy, I show some leash reactivity to other doggos when out on walkies. Working with a trainer has helped, but it is still a work in progress. I am doggo friendly. I plays great with larger doggos but I take a little bit to warm up to small doggos, especially if they are barking at me ☹. I am also little hooman friendly! My favorites are playing fetch and going for long walkies or hikes on some of the nearby trails. I am the type of doggo that just loves to be by your side and a serious sweetheart at home.

My perfect furever home would be one with either with another medium/large doggo that’s well behaved or in a home where I’m the only doggo and the owner is willing to continue to work with me on my leash reactivity. Ideally a home with another doggo that I can play with and learn how to act like a doggo when out on walkies. I’m great around little hoomans. My adoption fee is $350 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/

Apply to Adopt Me!