TAP is an all-breed, non-profit Dog Rescue Organization based in San Diego, Ca. Learn how you can help us right now! >

Adoptable: Arthur

Age: 1.5 years old

Gender: Male

Breed: Lab mix

Weight: 73 lbs

Personality: Very smart, sweet and a good boy! Quite energetic! Doesn't appreciate being suddenly touched by strangers but is happier around his persons and dogs.

Education: Good with bathroom and leash training. On Fluoxetine for anxiety.

Favorite Activities: LOVES to play fetch, play with other dogs, and roll around on his back in the grass

Looking for: A medium-to-high energy home with time to indulge in activities with this good boy would be great! But he will appreciate an all-adults home or kith older, respectful kids and a quiet environment. A female playful girl dog or cats would be good.

Special needs: On Fluoxetine for anxiety and to help with stress around strangers.

Adoption Fee: $ 350

Sweet, snuggly, and ready to love with his whole heart!

Hi, there!  My name is Arthur, and I’m a 1.5-old Lab mix.  I’m a big boy, weighing 73 pounds.  I’ve already been neutered, and I’m in great shape, health-wise!  I’m potty-trained and house-trained, too, and do decently on a leash.  I am battling a bit of anxiety, though, and I take daily doses of Fluoxetine to help calm me down. I am fully muzzle-trained.

Sadly, I haven’t had the greatest past, but I’m hopeful my future can make up for it.  I came to TAP as a puppy in December 2020 and was quickly scooped up by who I thought would be my furever family.  Everything was going great until my mom and dad gave me up once they had a baby.  As a result, I’ve had to navigate through feelings of confusion and abandonment, but I’ve quickly rebounded to become one of the most sweet and social pups!

You should know that when I love, I love hard! I’m sweet, loyal, and well-behaved.  I’m a quick learner, too, and I know “sit,” “shake,” and “down,” like the back of my hand.  My favorite activities are fetch, playing with other dogs, and rolling around on my back in the grass.  I’m also proud to say that I have no separation anxiety to speak of!  However, I do have some anxiety when approached or touched unexpectedly by strangers, but I’ve found that being around my hoomans or other doggie friends really seems to help.

I think I would do best in a medium-to-high energy household, with a family who will continue to help me gain confidence in meeting new people.  I warm up very quickly to female doggies (males take me a little longer to warm up to), so I think I’d really enjoy being in a home with a confident, playful, adult female dog.  I do great around cats, but as far as children are concerned, it’s probably best if I’m around kids 10 years or older.  I can get easily overwhelmed by sudden screaming and running, so being around children who can behave respectfully would be a good fit for me.  So, do I sound like your perfect match? If so, let’s meet! My adoption fee is $350 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip.  If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here: https://theanimalpad.org/adoption-application/